Madison International Speedway: Feiler, Rece, Moyer, and Snyder big winners at MIS tonight

Feiler, Rece, Moyer, and Snyder Big Winners at MIS Tonight

By John Wells

Dave Feiler (Super Late Models), Will Rece (Dave’s White Rock Sportsman), Aaron Moyer (Roto Rooter Legends), and Dan Snyder (Pellitteri Waste Systems Bandits) were the big winners at Madison International Speedway tonight.

Dave Feiler won the 30 lap feature for the Super Late Models after taking the lead from Colin Reffner on lap 24. With his victory Feiler became the first repeat winner in the division this season.

Reffner appeared to be the car to beat as he quickly jumped out to a big lead with Bobby Kendall in pursuit. Kendall moved alongside Reffner on lap 4 with Feiler right behind in third followed by Jeremy Miller and Bobby Wilberg.

Feiler was able to move by Miller for third and on lap 20 squeezed his way past Kendall for second. Feiler wasted no time cutting into Reffner’s lead and on lap 24 found room inside him to take the lead and quickly run away from the field and take the checkered flag. Reffner finished in second followed by Kendall, Miller, and Wilberg.

“The car was really good tonight, but I wish we had more cars. This is one of the best tracks in the country and the quality of drivers here is very good,” said Feiler. He now has two feature wins and leads the point standings.

Heats were won by Kendall and Mike Litchfeld. Miller was the fast qualifier.

Will Rece won the 20 lap feature for the Dave’s White Rock Sportsman. It was Rece’s third win of the season.

Don Wickstrum took the early lead from the start with Mike Taylor in pursuit as the two pulled away from the field until the caution flag came out on lap 8. On the restart Taylor outraced Wickstrum for the lead while Kody Hubred, Ryan Goldade, and Rece were fighting it out behind them.

On lap 15 Rece made a big move by passing both Goldade and Wickstrum to move to second and on lap 18 moved to the inside of Taylor coming down the front stretch to take the lead and race his way to victory lane.

Goldade was fastest in qualifying with a lap of 20.330. Heat race wins went to Wickstrum and Rece.

After a spin sent him to the back of the pack at the half way mark, Aaron Moyer came back through the field to take home the checkered flag in the 25 lap feature for the Legends.

Several drivers took turns running out front at the early part of the race with Moyer one of them before losing the lead to Cory Talaska on lap 9 and then spinning on lap 11 bringing out the caution flag and sending him to the rear of the field. For Moyer it was his third win of the year at MIS.

Talaska quickly jumped back to the lead after the restart but lost power on the back stretch bringing out the caution flag and ending his night early. Kyle Jusits took over the lead, but Moyer was moving quickly through the field and took back the lead and cruised to victory lane with Johnny Kringas, Chris Lishamer, Matt Berlin and Jusits completing the top five.

Talaska set a new track record in qualifying with a lap 13.662. Heat winners were Berlin and Moyer.

Dan Snyder topped an eight car field in the 20 lap feature for the Bandits. This was Snyder’s fourth trip to victory lane in 2014.

Dave Schmidt took the lead when the green flag waved. Behind the leader Heather Stark, Brandon DeLacy and Snyder were fighting it out for second. Snyder and Stark ran side by side before Snyder made the outside pass on lap 11 to take second.

Schmidt’s ten car length lead was quickly disappearing as Snyder cut it to two car lengths on lap 16 and dropped to the inside of Schmidt coming out of turn four on lap 17 to take the lead. On lap 18 the two leaders made contact with Schmidt forced to the high side of the track and off the pace allowing Snyder to take the lead. Snyder led the rest of the way to pick up the win. Heather Stark finished second followed by Jeremy Simmons, Schmidt, and Jason Coker.

Snyder set fast time with a lap of 15.206. Heat winners were Brian Paulson and Brandon DeLacy.

Racing continues on Friday, July 25th with all five weekly divisions in action with pit gates opening at 3:30, practice at 4:45, qualifying at 6:00 and racing at 7:30.

Complete race reports and information available at