St. Norbert College: Two professors awarded prestigious Franklin Research Fellowship

De Pere, Wis.: St. Norbert College professors Abigail Trollinger and Anh Sy Huy Le, both assistant professors of history, were selected as the recipients of this year’s Franklin Research Fellowship, which is funded and administered by the American Philosophical Society (  

The fellowship provides the financial support needed to conduct humanistic and social scientific research on topics that have conventionally been omitted from public understanding and to contribute to the advancement of academic knowledge. Usually, between 80 to 90 scholars nationwide are selected to receive the fellowship. To have two faculty historians chosen from the same institution is significant.

“I think, really, it speaks to the quality of research work conducted by our esteemed faculty and to a St. Norbert College education as a whole,” said Le. 

Trollinger and Le will be using the fellowship to research and write books this summer. Le is a historian of East Asia and Trollinger is a historian of the 20th-century United States.