Wisconsin Dental Association: Recognizes 17 for contributions to organized dentistry and public oral health

WEST ALLIS, Wis. – Dr. Thomas Raimann, a retired general dentist from Milwaukee, is the recipient of the 2022 Wisconsin Dental Association Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition of his long history of service to the profession and his leadership during the COVID-19 pandemic when he served as WDA president. Dr. Raimann was one of 17 dentists honored at the WDA’s annual Pyramid of Pride Awards held Nov. 11 at the Radisson Hotel and Conference Center in Green Bay.

Dr. Raimann joined WDA leadership in 2007 as a Region 3 – Greater Milwaukee Trustee, serving two terms through 2014. He continued as a WDA officer, serving as WDA president during the 2019-2020 year, during which he quickly faced new territory with the start of the COVID-19 pandemic. Dr. Raimann demonstrated leadership and calm focus as he chaired emergency Board meetings, held daily calls with WDA staff, worked to donate PPE from WDA’s cancelled Mission of Mercy to Wisconsin’s National Guard, contributed to WDA communications on changing COVID-19 clinic protocols and procedures and more.

Dr. Raimann is a 1980 graduate of Marquette University School of Dentistry (MUSoD) where he has been a part-time faculty member since 2014. He has served on the Greater Milwaukee Dental Association board of directors for 11 years and serves as its president from 2004-2005. He served at the American Dental Association (ADA) House of Delegates for seven years and has held various committee roles with the ADA and WDA. Dr. Raimann is a leader and volunteer in his community, continually participating in the Head Start program, Smile Day, Give Kids a Smile® and Mission of Mercy events. He served on the advisory boards for Saint Elizabeth Ann Seton and the MATC dental hygiene programs. He is a fellow of the American College of Dentists (ACD) and the International College of Dentists (ICD).

Dr. Michael Donohoo, a retired general dentist from Wauwatosa, is this year’s recipient of the WDA Foundation Philanthropic Award for being the mainstay of the WDA Foundation’s annual golf outing. Dr. Donohoo was the outing’s organizer for several years until 2011 before it was turned over to the WDA Foundation where he continues to make it their major annual fundraiser.

The Community Outreach Award was awarded to two WDA member dentists:

·         Dr. Miranda Peter, a general dentist in Menomonee Falls, was recognized for her commitment to serving her community, especially through her work at Community Smiles Dental. She has co-sponsored several events to support this non-profit safety-net clinic. In addition to her daily practice, she graduated from the 2022 WDA Leadership Academy.

·         Dr. Brian Turley, a general dentist in Jefferson, and the Rock River Community Dental Clinic were recognized for creating the partnership that now includes a community dental clinic that provides dental care to underserved patients in the Jefferson area. Dr. Turley and the clinic’s board worked with many organizations to help support the clinic, securing grants and donations.

The WDA presented two Friends of Dentistry Awards:

·         Linda Gleason, former student services director at MUSoD, was recognized for her 25 years of service and support to MUSoD, the MUSoD-Pierre Fauchard Academy-WDA Mentor Program, and thousands of MUSoD students during her tenure; many of whom are now WDA member dentists.

·         Dental Practice Advisors, a Division of Catalyst Consulting Group, LLC, was recognized for their help with WDA’s practice transitions and business of dentistry content over the past two years. DPA is a regular content expert for the WDA Journal and WDA.org website resources.

WMTV NBC15, a television station in Madison, was awarded with the 2022 Media Awareness Award for its coverage of numerous Wisconsin Dental Association news stories in 2021 regarding the COVID-19 pandemic’s short term and long term impact on dentistry and the community’s oral health, including the current dental workforce shortages. They also covered the WDA’s many legislative victories featuring WDA members.

The Communications Award was given to two WDA member dentists:

·         Dr. Ryan Dodge, a general dentist in Hartford, was recognized for his outstanding work with the WDA’s membership recruitment and retention efforts among new dentists and his engagement and promotion of the dental profession and public awareness on his practice’s social media platforms. Dr. Dodge was recently elected to serve as editor of the WDA Journal for the next four years.

·         Dr. Ryan Dulde, a general dentist in Eagle, was recognized for his work as WDA Journal editor over the past four years and as a WDA Communications Committee member for the past 10 years, but especially for his leadership during the COVID-19 pandemic, helping to provide pertinent communications to WDA members about the pandemic and breaking news through WDA platforms.

Dr. Molly Conlon Proby, a general dentist in Lake Geneva and early-career dentist, received the New Dentist Leadership Award in recognition of her dedication to numerous professional associations and organized dentistry at the local, state and national levels. Dr. Conlon Proby has been an active volunteer and graduate of the 2022 WDA Leadership Academy.

Dr. Angela Lueck, a general dentist in Milwaukee, received the Outstanding Leadership in Mentoring Award in recognition of her continued efforts as co-chair of the MUSoD-Pierre Fauchard Academy-WDA Mentor Program since 2013 and her role serving as a mentor to many dental students. As a mentor, she encourages them to become skilled and active dentists, whether it be through continuing education or organized dentistry.

The Political Action Award was given to two WDA member dentists:

·         Dr. Paula Crum, a periodontist in Green Bay, was recognized for her significant efforts to ensure authorization of Expanded Function Dental Auxiliaries (EFDAs) in Wisconsin. She spent a lot of time in the state Capitol meeting with legislators and testifying in hearings. When Gov. Evers signed it this past spring, she was right there beside him.

·         Dr. Patrick Tepe, a general dentist in Verona, was recognized for his leadership and commitment that contributed to the WDA’s most successful legislative session in history. He worked with legislators to draft a dental therapy bill the WDA could register neutral on and then worked with them again to draft and introduce successful legislation authorizing EFDAs in Wisconsin.

The WDA Award of Honor was given three WDA members and one WDA staff member:

·         Dr. Susan Cable, a general dentist in Kenosha, was recognized for her continued activism in several areas of organized dentistry. She has served in leadership roles in our local dental society and is now a key member of the WDA Foundation Board of Directors as a state director.

·         Dr. John Scheels, a retired general dentist in New Berlin, was recognized for his volunteer role serving as the primary dental consultant for the Milwaukee County Zoo for over 40 years. He patented two devices used at zoos across the country and taught the first elective course on veterinary dentistry at the UW School of Veterinary Medicine.

·         Dr. Kathy Schrubbe, a registered dental hygienist in Elm Grove, was recognized for her exceptional service clarifying CDC, OSHA and state guidance regarding infection protocols, masking and vaccination for the Wisconsin dental community during the COVID-19 pandemic.

·         Erika Valadez, dental practice & government relations associate with the WDA, was recognized for her 15 years of service to WDA members, providing a wealth of knowledge with various complicated aspects of running a dental practice and for being a mainstay of the WDA’s Madison office.