Milwaukee Public Schools: Milwaukee Community Schools Partnership receives Department of Education Award

MILWAUKEE (October 22, 2020) — The Milwaukee Community Schools Partnership has been selected to receive the highly competitive Department of Education Full Service Community Schools award. This five-year grant will invest $2.5 Million to support the partnership’s mission of transforming schools into places where students, families, staff and the surrounding community can work together to ensure every student is successful. 

This grant will provide the opportunity for Community Schools to expand to additional schools as well as allow the partnership to strengthen their current practices of creating schools that strive towards shared leadership, equity and opportunity, and a focus on culturally responsive and restorative practices. 

“This is a recognition of the many people that have made Community Schools a key strategy in our ongoing and collective fight for equity in the education,” said Dr. Ryan Hurley, Director of the Milwaukee Community Schools Partnership at United Way of Greater Milwaukee & Waukesha County

“Milwaukee Public Schools is honored to be acknowledged in this opportunity and acknowledges United Way of Greater Milwaukee & Waukesha County and the Milwaukee Teachers Education Association as partners in this collective work,” said Dr. Keith P. Posley, Superintendent of Milwaukee Public Schools. “Through this competitive grant, we will continue to incorporate best practices in our community schools.”  

“The Milwaukee Teachers’ Education Association is proud to be a founding partner in the important work of Community Schools within Milwaukee Public Schools. A vital part of the work of Community Schools is the engagement and uplift of students, families, and educators in the public school space. We are delighted that the work the Milwaukee Community School Partnership has done and will continue to do around culturally responsive teaching, restorative practices, and shared leadership has been acknowledged and will continue to grow with this Department of Education grant,” said Ingrid Walker-Henry, Vice President of the Milwaukee Teachers Education Association

The Milwaukee Community Schools Partnership was started in 2015 as a partnership between Milwaukee Public Schools, Milwaukee Teachers Education Association and United Way of Greater Milwaukee & Waukesha County. There are currently 12 Milwaukee Public Schools that are a part of the Milwaukee Community Schools Partnership. 

To learn more about the Milwaukee Community Schools Partnership, visit: