Junior Achievement: To honor WI business leaders May 1

MILWAUKEE – On May 1, 2017 Bill Nasgovitz, of Heartland Advisors, Agustin Ramirez, of Husco International, Inc., and Art, Bill & Ray Schmidt, of U.S. Venture, Inc. will be inducted into Junior Achievement’s (JA) Wisconsin Business Hall of Fame™ during a ceremony at The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee. These five new laureates will join the ranks of some of Wisconsin’s most esteemed business leaders in the Hall of Fame.

Established in 1990, the Hall of Fame honors individuals whose business innovations, effective management and civic involvement made a difference in companies and communities throughout the state. The laureates recognized this year have positively shaped Wisconsin’s business climate through their innovative thinking and leadership. They continue to support Wisconsin’s business initiatives by setting high standards for business practices and raising the bar of success.

“It’s our honor to induct these distinguished laureates into the Wisconsin Business Hall of Fame™,” says Tim Greinert, president of Junior Achievement of Wisconsin. “They represent the core of what JA is all about – entrepreneurship and business leadership. Each leader has become a role model for Wisconsin’s young people by creating a culture of innovation and success.”

In addition to inducting the four distinguished business leaders, several other awards will be presented at the ceremony. The Distinguished Executive Award, sponsored by Wells Fargo, will be presented to Greg Marcus, of The Marcus Corporation. Receiving the Peak Performer Award, sponsored by Accenture, will be Raquel Filmanowicz, of BMO Harris Bank. Junior Achievement and Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction will also name the 2017 Young Entrepreneur of the Year Award, sponsored by EY.

Past inductees to the Hall of Fame include Craig Culver, Culver’s, Russell M. Darrow, Jr., Russ Darrow Group, Inc.; William Specht, Cousins Submarines, Inc.; Robert E. Harlan, the Green Bay Packers; Pleasant Rowland, American Girl; Frederick Stratton, Jr., Briggs & Stratton; Richard Teerlink, Harley-Davidson, Inc.; John Stollenwerk, Allen Edmonds Shoe Company; Don Schneider, Schneider Trucking; and Bud Selig, the Milwaukee Brewers Baseball Club and Oscar Mayer.

Proceeds from the Hall of Fame event will support Junior Achievement of Wisconsin’s educational programs. For more information about the Wisconsin Business Hall of Fame™ go to the JA website, jawis.org

WHAT: An induction ceremony and dinner benefiting Junior Achievement

WHY: To honor past, present and future Wisconsin business leaders

WHERE: The Pfister Hotel, 424 East Wisconsin Avenue, 7th Floor, Milwaukee

WHEN: 5:15 p.m. Monday, May 1, 2017

WHO: Junior Achievement of Wisconsin, Heartland Advisors, Husco International, Inc., U.S. Venture, Inc., The Marcus Corporation, BMO Harris Bank, Young Entrepreneur of the Year