UW-Health: Dr. Bruce Hermann elected to American Epilepsy Society Board of Directors

CONTACT: Susan Lampert Smith

(608) 890-5643

[email protected]

Dr. Bruce Hermann elected to American Epilepsy Society Board of Directors

Washington, D.C. — Dr. Bruce Hermann, UW School of Medicine and Public Health professor, was elected this week to the American Epilepsy Society’s board of directors at the group’s 67th annual meeting and scientific conference in Washington, DC.

Hermann, director of the Charles Matthews Neuropsychology Lab, is an internationally recognized expert on the cognitive, behavioral and quality of life outcomes of epilepsy and epilepsy surgery. Hermann received the AES Service Award in 2012 for his contributions in the field of epilepsy and long record of voluntary service to AES and its members.

Hermann has served as a contributing editor of the AES journal Epilepsy Currents and as a member of the editorial boards of Epilepsy Research and The Journal of Epilepsy. He has just completed an eight-year term as an associate editor of Epilepsia, and is a current associate editor of Epilepsy & Behavior. His current research involves investigations of the cognitive, brain, and behavioral development of children with new onset epilepsy.

AES is the nation’s 3,000-member professional society for epilepsy physicians (epileptologists), scientists, and allied professionals dedicated to the treatment, prevention and cure of seizures and epilepsy. Epilepsy affects 50 million people worldwide, including three million in the United States. The disorder can have a single cause, such as a head injury, or manifest as a syndrome with a complex of symptoms. It is the third most common neurological disorder after Alzheimer’s disease and stroke.