WEDC: Top Main Street revitalization programs and volunteers honored

Contact: Tom Thieding, 608-267-9661 [email protected]

BELOIT, April 20, 2012 – The Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation (WEDC) recognized the best downtown revitalization projects of 2011 at the 22nd Annual Wisconsin Main Street Awards at the Beloit College campus.

Paul Jadin, CEO/Secretary of the WEDC, was on hand to recognize the efforts by Main Street volunteers and staff for the historic preservation and downtown economic development efforts of communities in Wisconsin.

Wisconsin Main Street inducted three more members into its Hall of Fame. They include Dave LaFontaine of Marshfield, Cindy Tang of Platteville and Merle Colburn of Algoma. The Hall of Fame indentifies individuals for their contributions to their local Main Street Programs over a long period of time.

Wisconsin Main Street is a community development program through the Wisconsin Economic Development Corporation (WEDC) targeting Wisconsin’s historic commercial districts. WEDC provides technical support and training to Wisconsin communities to revitalize their traditional business districts based on historic preservation developed by the National Trust for Historic Preservation. Wisconsin’s has 38 Main Street Communities. Since the Main Street Program was started in 1988, 4,262 businesses have been created, 1,476 businesses expanded, and 18,764 full-time jobs created.

2011 Main Street Award Winners and Honorable Mentions

Best Volunteer Program/Project

The Perfect Mixer – Rice Lake Main Street Association

Best Public/Private Partnership in Downtown Revitalization

Cool City Classic Car Show/HOG Rally Weekend – Two Rivers Main Street and City of Two Rivers

Best Downtown Special Event

Events for Exhibitour: An Art & Wine Walk – Wausau Area Events

Honorable Mention: Ethnic Festival – Two Rivers

Best Downtown Retail Event

Witches Night Out – Susie Myers and Prairie du Chien Downtown Revitalization, Inc. Promotions Committee

Best Creative Fundraising Effort

Murder Mystery Party at the Historic Villa Louis – Prairie du Chien Downtown Revitalization, Inc. Organization Committee

Best Downtown Image Campaign/Event/Item

Website: – Kathy Tank, Sara Grover and Matt Nelson, Port Washington

Honorable Mentions: Be in It! – Downtown Beloit Film and Marketing Campaign, Downtown Beloit Association; Annual Report – Downtown Fond du Lac Partnership

Best New Downtown Business

Paddle and Trail – Beloit

Honorable Mention: The Docking Station – On Broadway, Green Bay

Best Business Development Program/Project

Opportunity Knocks – Tomahawk Main Street Economic Restructuring Committee

Honorable Mention: Neighborhood Stabilization Program – Prairie du Chien Downtown Revitalization, Inc.

Best Business Marketing Campaign in a Downtown District

Beerntsen’s Candies – On Broadway, Green Bay

Honorable Mentions: MaCandis Boutique – Platteville; Driftless Angler – Mat & Geri Wagner, Viroqua

Best Business Citizen Award – Jim Stewart, Whitewater

Best New Building

Dermatology Associates of Wisconsin, S.C. – Manitowoc

Mersberger Financial Group, Inc. – Sheboygan Falls

Best Sustainability Award

LED Streetlight Replacement – City of Columbus, Columbus Water & Light, Greater Columbus Energy Commission

Leicht Park Solar Panels – On Broadway, Green Bay

Best Façade Rehabilitation Under $7,500

Main Street Market – Rice Lake

Best Façade Rehabilitation over $7,500

204-208 Watson Street – Mary Flanagan and Scott Kearney, Ripon

Honorable Mentions: Citizens First Bank – Viroqua; Main Street Shops – Chris Hale, Whitewater;

Natural Market, Inc. – Kristina Schramm, Manitowoc

Best Historic Restoration Project

Water Works Building – Bob and Merianne Zimmerman, Pewaukee

Honorable Mention: Historic Washington House Entrance Restoration – Two Rivers Historical Society

Best Adaptive Reuse

Our Market – Columbus

Honorable Mention: Lewis Station Winery – Russ and Linda Roedl, Lake Mills

Best Downtown Public Improvement Project– Beautification

Historic Eagle River Mural – Eagle River Revitalization Program and Mark DePuydt, Artist

Best Downtown Public Improvement Project– Built Environment

State Street Reconstruction and Gantry – City of Beloit and Downtown Beloit Assn.

Best Interior Renovation Project

Baltica Tea Room and Gift Shop – Urzula Cholewinska and Dan Micha, Port Washington

Honorable Mention: Jewelers Palette – Michael and Denise Pozayt, Marshfield

Best Upper Floor Development

28 N. Main Street Loft – Sam Meyer, Fond du Lac

2011 Volunteer of the Year

Algoma – Lia Montgomery

Beloit – Peter Gabriele

Columbus – Kristi Agnew

Darlington – Richard Anderson

Eagle River – Sue Ingham

Fond du Lac – Liv Moyer

Green Bay – Tammy Asplund

Lake Mills – Carol Burrows

Lincoln Village – Claude Krawczyk

Manitowoc – Chelle Blaszczyk, Captain

Marshfield – Beverly Shookman

Pewaukee – Shannon Loper

Platteville – Dave Zmina

Port Washington – Jill Kirst

Prairie du Chien – Terry Meyer

Rhinelander – Joan Belongia

Rice Lake – Katelyn Pardun

Sharon – Elva Gallagher

Sheboygan Falls – Ruth Paul

Tomahawk – Clarann Stocker

Two Rivers – AJ Ashenbrenner

Viroqua – Jen Wieman

Watertown – Stan and Sue Schramm

West Allis – Mary Morris

Whitewater – Ron Binning

2012 Hall of Fame Inductees

Dave LaFontaine – Marshfield

Cindy Tang – Platteville

Merle Colburn – Algoma

2011 Board Member of the Year

Algoma – Merle Colburn

Beloit – Deanna Ohman

Columbus – Kathy Garwick

Darlington – Kathy Brecklin

Eagle River – Bryan Pierce

Fond du Lac – Sam Meyer

Green Bay – Cora Haltaufderheid

Lake Mills – Russ Roedl

Manitowoc – Patricia Roth

Marshfield – Seth Koenig

Pewaukee – Michelle Easton

Platteville – Gary Olson

Port Washington – Marcia Endicott

Prairie du Chien – Joe Ruskey

Rhinelander – Brian Diel

Rice Lake – Jean Koranda

Sharon – Linda Carter

Sheboygan Falls – Dorothy Schueffner

Tomahawk – Pam Theiler Wise

Two Rivers – Theresa Kronforst

Viroqua – Julie Steiner

Watertown – John David

West Allis – Thomas Miller

Whitewater – Geoff Hale, Honorary Chairperson

Main Street Executive Director Years of Service

Two Years: Dawn Follendorf, Wausau; Christopher Naumann, On Broadway, Green Bay

Five Years: Todd Trimberger, Sturgeon Bay

Eleven Years: Michael Glime, Algoma

Thirteen Years: Virginia Kauffman, Tigerton

Sixteen Years: Kathy Wellsandt, Rice Lake

Twenty Years: Craig Tebon, Ripon