UW-Milwaukee: March 29 reception to introduce founding dean of Zilber School of Public Health

MILWAUKEE—The University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee and the Joseph J. Zilber School of Public Health have scheduled a “Hard Hat Party” March 29 to welcome the school’s founding dean, Dr. Magda Peck. The event is set for the Zilber School of Public Health Building at the Brewery, 1240 N. 10th St., Milwaukee. The reception starts at 4 p.m. and invited guests can tour the building, currently under construction, from 5 to 6 p.m.

Peck, who joined UWM on March 1, is a national public health leader with expertise in advancing the health of urban women, children and families. She came to UWM from the University of Nebraska Medical Center in Omaha, where she was professor of pediatrics and public health, and associate dean for community engagement and public health practice.

The Zilber School of Public Health conducts rigorous public health research and scholarship; educates the current and future public health workforce; and influences the development of strategies and policies that promote health among diverse populations. The school, which was founded in 2009, is committed to social and environmental justice.

Currently, the school offers three academic degrees (Master of Public Health, Graduate Certificate in Public Health and Ph.D. in Environmental and Occupational Health), and plans to include additional Ph.D. and M.P.H. concentrations.

About UWM

As Wisconsin’s premier public urban institution, the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee enjoys a growing national reputation for excellence in research, teaching and community engagement. On an operating budget of $680 million, it educates approximately 30,000 students and is an engine of innovation for Southeastern Wisconsin. The 104-acre main campus and satellite sites are located in the economic and cultural heart of the state. The university’s recent expansion includes new academic and research facilities and the creation of the only School of Freshwater Sciences in the United States and the Joseph J. Zilber School of Public Health.