America SCORES Milwaukee: The great America SCORES soccer dribble in Milwaukee

Contact: Kate Carpenter, Executive Director FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 414.881.1189

[email protected]

Ten Cities, Five Minutes, One Guinness World Record

MILWAUKEE, WI (September 5, 2012) – On Saturday, September 29th America SCORES Milwaukee will join nine America SCORES’ cities in an attempt to break the Guinness World Record for the most soccer balls ever dribbled by a group at one time.

Local participation in the national effort will take place at Uihlein Soccer Park as hundreds of America SCORES Milwaukee and community supporters simultaneously dribble soccer balls for five minutes. Due to the park’s outdoor and indoor soccer field availability, the event will be held rain or shine.

“Everyone affiliated with America SCORES Milwaukee from our organization’s leadership to the children we serve are excited to join together in this fun way to actively support our ongoing mission to inspire at-risk, urban Milwaukee youth to lead healthy lives,” said Kate Carpenter, America SCORES Milwaukee Executive Director. “It’s a special opportunity to participate in a unique fundraiser of potentially world record breaking scope with local community benefits.”

In addition to Milwaukee, the SCORES’ cities sharing in the goal to break the current Guinness World Record for soccer ball dribbling held by the United Nations (2,068 dribblers in the Gaza Strip) include Atlanta, Chicago, Cleveland, Denver, Los Angeles, New York, Portland, San Francisco and Seattle. Each city will be dribbling simultaneously regardless of time zone variances – 3:00 p.m. PST, 4:00 p.m. MST, 5:00 p.m. CST (Milwaukee), 6:00 p.m. EST.

“Our goal is not only to support 2,500 national dribblers to break a world record on a single day, but to raise awareness and generate the funds necessary to keep our local program that instills increased levels of student academic achievement, physical fitness, and community involvement going and growing every day,” said Carpenter.

Registered participants will receive a free event t-shirt and a free soccer ball. For more details including event registration, go to soccerdribble.kintera.org/Milwaukee.

ABOUT AMERICA SCORES MILWAUKEE

America SCORES is the premier, nationwide youth development non-profit organization that provides urban students an outcome-based, innovative and well-integrated program using soccer, poetry, and service learning. The organization inspires at-risk, urban youth to lead healthy lives, be engaged students, and have the confidence and character to make a difference in the world. America SCORES Milwaukee, one of the 15 cities America SCORES operates in, serves 160 students ages 8-11 in five urban Milwaukee schools. For more information, visit americascoresmke.org .