Gov. Walker: Makes appointments to the Council on Forestry

December 5, 2011
For Immediate Release
Contact: Cullen Werwie, 608-267-7303

Madison–Governor Scott Walker made numerous appointments to the Council on Forestry today.

“I look forward to working with the council members to find new ways of growing the forestry economy and creating jobs in Wisconsin,” Governor Walker said.

Henry Schienebeck was appointed Chairman of the Council on Forestry and has been in the forest product industry for 33 years. Mr. Schienebeck brings experience and a wide understanding of the importance of forestry to the council. He received a Wisconsin Master Logger Certification in 2004 and is currently the Executive Director of the Great Lakes Timber Professionals Association, where he strives to guide the foresting industry into the future through public education and legislative reform.

Paul DeLong of Madison was re-appointed as Chief State Forester. He has worked in DNR Forestry for 19 years and in 2010 he received the Conservation Leadership Award from The Nature Conservancy.

Matthew Dallman of Tomahawk was re-appointed as Non-Profit Conservation Organization Representative. Mr. Dallman comes to the Council with over 15 years of conservation experience and serves as a board member of the Great Lakes Forest Alliance.

Richard Wedepohl of Madison was appointed as Non-Industrial, Private Forest Land Representative. Mr. Wedepohl, a professional engineer, is a member of the Wisconsin Woodland Owners Association and currently the owner of Lake Management Consultants, Inc.

Troy Brown of Wausau was re-appointed as Lumber Industry Representative. Mr. Brown has worked in the lumber industry at Kretz Lumber Co. for over 20 years, beginning as a machine operator and working his way up to President.

Jane Severt of Merrill was re-appointed as the County Forests Representative. Ms. Severt has over 15 years of experience with county forestry and is a member of the Society of American Foresters.

Virgil Waugh of Milton was appointed as Secondary Wood Industry Representative. Mr. Waugh is a member of the Madison Area Builders Association, Wisconsin Builders Association, and National Association of Home Builders. In 2007 he was named President of Amwood Homes, Inc.

Kimberly Quast of Fond du Lac was re-appointed as Forestry Consulting Representative. Ms. Quast received her BS in Forest management from the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point and received the 2010 Michael W. King Field Forester of the Year award.

Mark Rickenbach of Madison was appointed as Forestry School Representative. He is an Associate Professor in the University of Wisconsin-Madison Department of Forest and Wildlife and has authored over 80 research and extension publications.

Randy Champeau of Rosholt was appointed as Conservation Education Representative. Mr. Champeau comes to the council with a Ph.D. in Environmental/Conservation Education from Michigan State University and is currently an Associate Dean at the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point’s College of Natural Resources.

James Kerkman of Bangor was appointed as Society of American Foresters Representative. Mr. Kerkman received his BS in Forest Management from the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point and has served in the US Army since 1985 as a forester.

James Hoppe of Rhinelander was re-appointed as Paper and Pulp Industry Representative. Mr. Hoppe comes to the Council with over 20 years of forestry experience.

Paul Strong of Rhinelander was appointed as Federal Department of Agriculture Representative.

Governor Walker also appointed Rep. Jeff Mursau as the Assembly Representative.

The Council on Forestry was created in 2003 to bring together people with knowledge of the forestry industry to advise the Governor, Legislature, DNR and others. The council includes representatives of universities, state government, and industries such as logging, lumber and paper.