American Institute of Architects: Three Wisconsin architects elevated to AIA College of Fellows


William Babcock, Hon, AIA,(608) 257-8477

Scott Georgeson, FAIA, (414) 272-8822

Thomas Hirsch, FAIA, (608) 233-7797

Walter Wilson, FAIA,(414) 278-4854

Madison (February 15, 2011)—The American Institute of Architects (AIA) has announced that three AIA-member architects from Wisconsin have been elevated to its prestigious College of Fellows, an honor awarded to members who have made contributions of national significance to the profession.

The Wisconsin architects honored as Fellows of the Institute are Scott F. Georgeson, FAIA, Milwaukee, Thomas E Hirsch, FAIA, Madison, and Walter L. Wilson, FAIA, Glendale.

Scott F. Georgeson, FAIA, with Workshop Architects, was selected to receive this honor because of his contributions in architectural design through his expertise and passionate advocacy for the key role theatres play in building strong, sustainable communities. With over 100 theatre projects in his portfolio, including the country’s first new theatre certified by the Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) program, Georgeson has focused his professional practice on building a knowledge base for every aspect of performing arts architecture.

Thomas E. Hirsch, FAIA, with Hirsch Group LLC, was selected to receive this honor because of his public service contributions through his original thinking, ethical responsibility and comprehensive approach to a wide range of human habitability issues. Hirsch’s efforts have resulted in national precedent-setting standards for floodplain management, accommodations for persons with disabilities and affordable housing that is highly energy efficient and incorporates renewable energy.

Walter L. Wilson, FAIA, with the Milwaukee County Department of Transportation and Public Works – Architectural, Engineering and Environmental Service, was selected to receive this honor because of his contributions through his volunteer architect/activist activities. Wilson embraces inner city communities, works to increase opportunities for minorities, young people and seniors, and diligently promotes architectural awareness and strengthened professional architectural standards.

Nationally, out of a membership of over 80,000, there are fewer than 2,700 AIA members distinguished with the honor of Fellowship. It is conferred on architects with at least ten years of membership in the AIA who have made significant contributions in the following areas: the aesthetic, scientific, and practical efficiency of the profession; the standards of architectural education, training, and practice; the building industry through leadership in the AIA and other related professional organizations; advancement of living standards of people through an improved environment; and to society through significant public service.

The three new Wisconsin Fellows, who are entitled to use the designation “FAIA” following their names, will be invested in the College of Fellows at the 2011 AIA National Convention and Design Exposition in New Orleans on May 13. A total of 104 AIA members will be invested this year.

The 2011 Jury of Fellows was chaired by Robert D. Loversidge, FAIA, Ohio. Other jury members were Henry C. Alexander Jr., FAIA, Florida.; Jeffrey A. Huberman, FAIA, North Carolina; Leevi Kiil, FAIA, New Jersey; Paula J. Loomis, FAIA, Virginia; Gregory S. Palermo, FAIA, Iowa; and Linda Searl, FAIA, Illinois.

Celebrating its 100th anniversary in 2011, AIA Wisconsin is the state society of the American Institute of Architects. With over 1,300 individual members, AIA Wisconsin represents architects in private practice, business, industry, government and education. Wisconsin is honored to now have thirteen Fellows of the AIA.

For more information on the AIA College of Fellows, contact Terri Stewart, 202-626-7464.