Gov. Doyle: Announces $100,000 grant for Thrive

Contact: Jennifer Smith, Thrive Dir.-Communications, [email protected] 608-443-1961


MADISON REGION – Governor Jim Doyle announced that Thrive, the economic development enterprise for the eight-county Madison Region, has received a $100,000 Regional Marketing grant from the Department of Commerce. The grant was announced along with the unveiling of Thrive’s new three-year strategic plan for the eight-county Madison Region.

“We must draw on the resources and talent of all our communities to grow the state’s economy,” Governor Doyle said. “I look forward to working with Thrive as we invest in Southwest and South Central Wisconsin and drive economic growth in the region.”

“The economy crosses boundary lines on the map, so the State’s continued recognition and investment in regional economic development is right on target. Our partnership with the State is vital to our mission, as is our partnership with the private sector,” said Jennifer Alexander, Thrive president.

Thrive will use these funds to advance the region’s competitive advantage across four key areas:

* increasing capital in the region;

* target sector-based initiatives in agriculture, healthcare and technology;

* policy and research;

* promotion of the region.

“Thrive’s new strategic plan for 2010-2012 ( is focused on delivering very tangible and relevant deliverables to the region in ways that really advance our economy,” stated Sean Robbins, Thrive’s Executive VP. “We’re very much a ‘roll-up-your-sleeves’ kind of organization that is on the frontlines of growing the economy in ways that preserve and enhance quality of life. Our work plan is centered on the idea that we are a bridge between the public and private sectors to get real results.”

Thrive was established in 2007 to grow the Madison Region’s economy in ways that preserve and enhance quality of life in the region with initiatives that foster and build on a collaborative environment between the public and private sectors. Thrive counties include Columbia, Dane, Dodge, Green, Iowa, Jefferson, Rock and Sauk.