Dells Raceway Park: Automotion at Dells Raceway Park


Julia Luther

Dells Raceway Park

Classic cars and racing action combined this weekend at Dells Raceway Park. Automotion cars arrived at the track to treat fans to a Burnout Contest and Car Parade. Featured on track were the Late Models, Sportsman, Pure Stocks, Bandits, and the Grand National Vintage Racers.

Rich Schumann Jr topped the qualifying charts for the second week in a row with a time of 14.318 seconds. After the inversion for the feature, Derek Childs would start from the pole position with Steve Lichtfeld and Joel Soenksen close behind. An incident early in the race between Soenksen and Lichtfeld would put them to the tail of the field. Bobby Kendall benefitted and put a late charge on the leader, but could not get by him. Childs cruised to victory for his first feature win of the season. Fast Dash winner was Ty Majeski, with Mike Ehde and Rocky Breezer winning their heat races.

In the Sportsman division, Jay Kalbus posted fast tine with a 15.527. Jeff Nehrkorn would lead off the green flag lap with Logan Love and Ron Grabarski following. Nehrkorn stayed strong through the beginning of the race but by mid point Grabarski had moved in and taken the lead. Ron Grabarski picked up his first feature win as a Sportsman. Jeff Nehrkorn won the heat race.

Competition is heating up in the Pure Stock division between two time defending champion Brad Luck and Dave Trute. Trute qualified fastest with a 15.859. Luck and Trute started the feature deep in the field and only had 25 laps to charge to the front. Luck was able to move steadily through the group and work his way to the front and challenge race leader Bill Zeman. With just a few laps left in the feature Luck maneuvered past Zeman for the lead and took the checkered flag for the first time this season. After a major accident last week, Sandy Cook came back to win her heat race, and Dave Trute won his.

Brandon Junget had the fastest car of the night, qualifying with a 17.617. Junget would start in the back of the feature and only had 18 laps to work his way to the front. Race leader Kelsey Schultz attempted to keep the pole position throughout, but Kory Childs would power past her to claim the lead, with Junget at his heels . With just six laps to go Brandon made his move and cruised into Victory Lane for the second time this season. Steve Rozek, Andrew Portzen, and Joshua Bisbee won the heat races.

Gary Mitidiero, in a 1971 Camaro won both the heat and the feature for the Grand National Vintage Racers.

Quick Results with hometowns can be viewed here


* 01-Brad Luck Victory Lane

* 02-Burnout Contest Participant

* 03-Brandon Junget Victory Lane

* 04-Ron Grabarski Victory Lane

* 05-Derek Childs Victory Lane

* 06-Gary Mitidiero Grand National Vintage Feature Winner