Gov. Doyle: Announces $100,000 regional marketing grant for New North

Contacts: Laura Smith, Office of the Governor, 608-261-2162

Tony Hozeny, Department of Commerce, 608-267-9661

GREEN BAY – Governor Jim Doyle announced today that New North, Inc. of De Pere has received a $100,000 Regional Marketing grant from the Department of Commerce. The announcement was made at the New North Summit in Green Bay, where the Governor gave welcoming remarks.

“We must draw on the resources and talent of all our communities to grow the state’s economy,” Governor Doyle said. “I look forward to working with the New North as we invest in Northeastern Wisconsin and drive economic growth in the region.”

Governor Doyle has made strengthening Wisconsin’s economy a top priority. Under his leadership, the state has gained some of the most powerful economic development tools in the country. The budget Governor Doyle signed earlier this year made unprecedented investments in Wisconsin businesses, including powerful new tax credits designed to keep and add jobs. The budget also offered companies major new incentives to spur research and development and gave investors new tools to promote start-ups and new companies. These efforts have strengthened a continuous drive to modernize and grow all segments of Wisconsin’s economy.

New North will use these funds to advance the region’s competitive advantage in two target markets: wind energy and cellulosic ethanol. New North will spearhead the work around these two industry clusters, assist with industry research, drive collaborative marketing and trade show presence, and cultivate prospective investors to help fulfill the commercial promise and workforce potential of these two industries for Northeastern Wisconsin.

New North was established in July 2005 to foster collaboration among private and public sector leaders throughout an 18 county region in Northeast Wisconsin. Its mission is to harness and promote the region’s resources, talents and creativity for the purposes of sustaining and growing its regional economy. The New North counties include Outagamie, Winnebago, Calumet, Waupaca, Brown, Shawano, Oconto, Marinette, Door, Kewaunee, Sheboygan, Manitowoc, Fond du Lac, Green Lake, Marquette, Florence, Menominee, and Waushara.