Dells Raceway Park: Super late models return to Dells Raceway Park


Julia Luther

Dells Raceway Park


Wisconsin Dells, WI-Dells Raceway Park welcomed the Super Late Models back this Saturday night with clear skies and brisk temperatures. The Grand National Vintage Racers, Limited Late Models, Super Stocks, and Pure Stocks also joined them on track for a great night of racing. In addition, cars from Automotion treated the fans to parade laps and a burnout contest.

Jeff Kendall, the 2008 Track Champion in the Super Late Model Division started his season off by qualifying first with a 13.346. In the 50 lap feature Steve Holzhausen started in fourth and slowly made his way to the front of the field with Jeff Kendall close behind him. 25 laps into the feature and it was Steve Holzhausen in the lead with Jeff Kendall in second and battling for the lead. The next half of the race was a battle between the two for the lead, but it was Steve Holzhausen who hung in there and won his first feature of the 2009 season. Also visiting Victory Lane in the Super Late Model division was Tom Lichtfeld for the Fast Dash, Mike Gunderson and Dave Trute in the heat races.

In the Limited Late Model Division, 25 cars qualified, and Mike Ehde, also a 2008 Track Champion, set fast time with a 14.238. The full field of cars called for a semi feature to find out who would join the top 18 cars in the feature and it was Ed Jackson who took the checkered flag and the first transfer position along with Kevin Seidler. In the feature, Kurt Clapper started second and quickly moved into the lead. The pure excitement of this class was on display as they battled hard and tough to the delight of the fans, and in the end it was Kurt Clapper that won the feature. Cardell Potter, Joel Soenksen, and Ed Jackson won top honors in their heat races.

Mike Lichtfeld set fast time for the second week in a row in the Super Stock division with a 14.765. John Zuch challenged Brian Hakala for the lead at the start of the feature and continued to lead the race, but with eight laps to go Mike Lichtfeld worked his way to the front of the field. When the checkered flag flew at lap 30 it was Mike Lichtfeld who was visiting Victory Lane for the second time this season. Heat race winners were Dale Schultz and rookie Andrew Kulka.

The Pure Stock division had many ups and downs Saturday night. Daron Fish set fast time with a 16.248 but then had a mechanical failure that took him out for the rest of the night. Mark Hohl started on the pole for the feature and managed to hang on to that lead throughout the 25 lap feature, but it was the battle for third and fourth position that was down to the wire as Kevin Gilding (10:18.663) tried to squeak past Becky Grabarski (10:18.661) for third place. However, Becky was just a hair faster when the results came in from the computer. Mark Hohl had a great night as he claimed his first feature win of the 2009 season and also won his heat race. Willy Schreiber also won his heat race.

The Grand National Vintage Racers always put on an unbelievable show at Dells Raceway Park and this visit was no different as the field of cars included a 1958 Edsel, a 1968 Road Runner, 1970 Chevy Nova, and more. Fast Qualifier was Gary Mitiderio. Mark Freund and Jim Heiland won heat races. Chris Loberg was the feature winner for the night.

Dells Raceway Park is an American Speed Association member track. For further information visit or call the office at 608-253-RACE.

Photos from Saturday Night are available here