Dells Raceway Park: Results from Saturday, August 8

Dells Raceway Park, an American Speed Association track, welcomed some “new” drivers in the Super Late Model Division, including Dexter Bean, a part time NASCAR Sprint Cup driver, who last raced in the Dells in 2006 when he won the Wisconsin Challenge Series North American Cup. Also in attendance was 2004 Dells Track Champion Steve Rubeck, who returned to the track for the first time under the new ownership.

Jeff Kendall took the top spot in qualifying for the second week in a row in the super late model division with a 13.561. The invert would be kind to Steve Rubeck as he would lead the field to green for the feature event ahead of Jim Carson and Kyle Kinder. Rubeck quickly took the lead and reminded his fellow competitors and fans that he was a former champion at Dells Raceway Park. Defending champion, Jeff Kendall worked his way up to second with ten laps left in the race, but he would need more time or a caution to overcome Rubeck and it was Rubeck who raced his way to Victory Lane.

John Zimmerman won the Super Late Model Dash, and Thayran Rezin and Dexter Bean won the heat races.

In the Limited Late Model division Jim Sauter Jr posted a 14.285 fast qualifying time. In the semi-feature Mark Brooner and Ed Jackson claimed the transfer positions for the main event. Pressured from the start, Aaron Falbe was able to hold on to the lead for the first few laps until Shayne Poehnelt was able to get by. With a dominating performance, Shayne never looked back as he went on to claim his first feature win in the division.

Limited Late Model heat race winners were Bill Gray, Kurt Clapper, and Cardell Potter.

Brad Luck was the quick qualifier in the Pure Stock division for the second time this season with a 16.318. Starting at the pole, Doug Paul would lead the majority of the feature. Meanwhile Daron Fish who started deep in the pack was working his way up through the field and powered past Paul with ten laps to go and when the checkered flag flew Daron Fish claimed the feature win. Bill Devine and Don Fassett won their heat races.

In the Bandit division, Brian Warner continued to dominate with fast qualifying time of 17.378. Jody Schmidt took the early lead in the feature, with Warner close behind him. The battle between Schmidt and Warner raged throughout the 18 lap feature with Schmidt holding off Warner until the final lap. Warner managed to squeeze past Schmidt to cross the finish line first and cruised into victory lane. Heat race winners were Jody Schmidt and Mark Ailes.