WMC: Nine Wisconsin companies receive Manufacturer of the Year Awards

Milwaukee, WI, February 28, 2008 — 63 Wisconsin businesses were nominated for the 20th annual Wisconsin Manufacturer of the Year Awards for outstanding achievements in manufacturing. On Thursday, the nine winning Wisconsin companies were announced at a black-tie awards dinner and program at the Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee.

The Manufacturer of the Year Awards recognize Wisconsin companies that demonstrate a commitment to business excellence which has a positive impact on the company and the state, making Wisconsin a better place to live, work and play. “Manufacturers are the backbone of the Wisconsin economy, and when manufacturing is strong and growing, services, retail, construction and other industries will have strong paths as well,” said Timothy L. Christen, CEO of Virchow, Krause & Company, LLP.

The statewide recognition program is co-sponsored by Michael Best & Friedrich LLP, a preeminent Midwest-based law firm; Virchow, Krause & Company, LLP, the nation’s 15th largest accounting and consulting firm; and Wisconsin Manufacturers and Commerce, the state’s largest business association.

“Wisconsin manufacturers are responsible for creating jobs and keeping our local economies strong,” said Tod B. Linstroth, senior partner in the Business Practice Group at Michael Best & Friedrich LLP. “Their commitment to sound technological advances, customers and employees will foster new opportunities for our families and our futures.”

Companies were evaluated in areas such as financial growth or consistency, technological advances, product development, environmental solutions, operational excellence/continuous improvement, commitment to employees, and effective research and development.

Four Grand Award winners, categorized by number of employees, were recognized for superior performance across the nomination form categories. The Community Commitment Grand Award was presented to a manufacturer for its corporate citizenship efforts in the community. Special Awards were presented to four companies for achieving excellence in a particular area. The Special Award categories were determined by the judges based on information provided in the nomination forms.

“We are proud to honor these manufacturers as they forge ahead setting the pace for economic development, growth and prosperity,” said James S. Haney, president of Wisconsin Manufacturers & Commerce. “Wisconsin manufacturers are recognized around the world for their innovations, cutting-edge technological advances, and uncompromising commitment to customer satisfaction.”

An independent panel of judges, with representatives from business, education, government and the media, selected the 2007 Manufacturer of the Year Award winners. More information about the Wisconsin Manufacturer of the Year Awards program can be found at http://www.wimoty.com.

2007 Wisconsin Manufacturer of the Year Award Winners

Grand Award Winners Category

Standard Imaging, Inc., Middleton Small (1-49 employees)

Mathews, Inc., Sparta Medium (50-299 employees)

Bassett Mechanical, Kaukauna Large (300-999 employees)

Sargento Foods, Inc., Plymouth Mega (1000+ employees)

Briggs & Stratton Corporation, Milwaukee Community Commitment

Special Award Winners

Centrisys Corporation, Kenosha “Operational Excellence in a Capital Intensive Industry”

Vulcan Global Manufacturing Solutions, Inc., Milwaukee “Get the Lead Out”

Signicast Corporation, Hartford “Manufacturing Process Innovation”

J.J. Keller & Associates, Inc., Neenah “Strengthening Communities”

For more information please contact:

Kelly Morgan, WMC [email protected] 608-661-6907

Keith Hudson, WMC [email protected] 608-661-6926