Governor Doyle Announces Flood Assistance for Wisconsin Counties

$3.1 Million in Funding to Help Families Recover From Summer Flooding Damage


KENOSHA – Governor Jim Doyle today announced Kenosha and five other Wisconsin counties – La Crosse, Crawford, Richland, Vernon and Green – will receive assistance from the Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) Emergency Assistance Program (EAP) to aid in the recovery and rehabilitation of homes damaged by the severe flooding last August. 


“These storms and floods destroyed property, but Wisconsin communities have pulled together, ensured the safety of one another, and started the difficult road of rebuilding their lives,” said Governor Doyle.  “I am pleased to announce over $3 million in emergency funding to these counties to help deal with the devastation left behind by the terrible flooding in August.”


The following counties will receive Community Development Block Grants:


Crawford County – $216,700

La Crosse County – $380,000

Richland County – $632,500

Vernon County – $500,000

Village of Chaseburg (Vernon County) – $377,000

Village of Gays Mills (Crawford County) – $459,900

Green County – $275,000

Kenosha County – $300,000


The counties plan to utilize the funding administered by the Department of Commerce to rehabilitate homes owned by low to moderate income families that were damaged by the flooding.  In some cases, where the homes are at risk of future flooding, the funds will help relocate families to safe housing outside the floodplain.


These grants provide funds to address housing needs that occur as a direct result of natural or manmade disasters. Grants are awarded to cities, towns, counties and villages with populations less than 50,000 and for the primary use of low-and moderate-income residents.