Governor Doyle Presents 2006 Design and Construction Awards

Governor Jim Doyle recognized the outstanding design and construction services of four Wisconsin firms and three individuals today by presenting them with the Governor’s Award for Outstanding Design and Construction Services at a meeting of the State Building Commission in Madison. The 16th annual awards highlight exemplary work on state building projects that are helping to invest in the state’s infrastructure and grow the economy. 


“In Wisconsin we are working hard to build the finest research and educational space in the country and ensure that we have the facilities we need to serve our citizens,” Governor Doyle said.  “Excellence in design and construction in the state building program is the result of professional skill and teamwork put forth by architects, engineers, contractors and state staff responsible for seeing that work through.  I am pleased to recognize those achievements with the Governor’s Awards.”


The following firms and individuals were recognized for their achievements:


·         Excellence in Sustainable Design and Construction – Thomas Brown Architects of Stevens Point

Thomas Brown Architects were recognized for their work on the Department of Natural Resources Mead Wildlife Area Education Center.  The sustainability award is presented to a firm involved in the design and/or construction of a state building demonstrating and achieving sustainability goals.  The company’s incorporation of sustainable and energy-efficient building design greatly enhanced the building’s function as an education center, allowing it to also be used as a teaching tool for green building design.  The Mead Wildlife Area Education Center has also received the 2006 Sustainability and Energy Efficiency Award of Excellence from the Wisconsin Green Building Alliance and the 2006 Award of Honor from the National Association of Conservation Engineers.


·         Excellence in Architectural Design – Eppstein Uhen Architects of Milwaukee

Eppstein Uhen was recognized for their work on the Reuter Residence Hall at the University of Wisconsin-La Crosse.  The building, with 95 apartment-style living units and accommodations for 380 students, was designed to complement existing, historical buildings on campus.  The residence hall also includes a state-of-the art heat recovery system partially funded by a demonstration grant from Excel Energy.


·         Excellence in Engineering Design – Strand Associates, Inc. of Madison

Strand Associates was presented a Governor’s Award for their work on the Angler’s Cove Restoration Project at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, which improved access to Lake Mendota while also reducing erosion of the surrounding bluff and the creation of a prairie overlooking the water. 


·         Excellence in Construction – Artega Construction, Inc. of Milwaukee

Artega Construction received an award for their work to replace four main entrances to Mitchell Hall, a University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee landmark that is listed on the National Historic Register.  The team worked from old photographs to replicate ornate masonry details for the campus’ flagship building.


·         Excellence in Service – Bill Babcock (Executive Director, American Institute of Architects Wisconsin) and Carol Godiksen (Executive Director, American Council of Engineering Companies of Wisconsin)

Babcock and Godiksen were recognized for their facilitation of a public-private partnership between the Division of State Facilities and the architects and engineers of Wisconsin who work on state building projects.  Their efforts to maintain lines of communication between the state and the trades are improving projects throughout the state.


·         Excellence in Service – Ron Krohn, Department of Administration Division of State Facilities

A fixture in the Division of State Facilities for 21 years, Krohn has served as the right-hand man to five division administrators.  Working in a division filled with technical specifications and expertise, Krohn has played a vital role as a non-technical advisor and sounding board in an environment focused on nuts and bolts.


All firms and individuals involved in state building construction projects are eligible for the awards.  Winners are selected by a panel of professionals, assembled by the Department of Administration’s Division of State Facilities, who reviews all projects nominated for the honor. Winners receive plaques recognizing their achievements from Governor Doyle.