WMC: Nine Wisconsin Companies Win Manufacturer of the Year Awards


                Jim Pugh, WMC, (608) 258-3400

    Heidi Garvin, WMC, (608) 258-3400




MILWAUKEENine Wisconsin companies Thursday received 2005 Wisconsin Manufacturer of the Year Awards for manufacturing excellence. 


“These companies have made a commitment to keep manufacturing jobs right here in Wisconsin, establishing themselves as community and global leaders,” said Tim Christen, CEO of Virchow Krause. “The Manufacturer of the Year Awards program celebrates the stories of Wisconsin’s manufacturing companies that set the standards of excellence.”

The annual competition is co-sponsored by Michael Best & Friedrich LLP, a preeminent Midwest-based law firm; Virchow, Krause & Company, LLP, the nation’s 15th largest accounting and consulting firm; and Wisconsin Manufacturers and Commerce, the state’s largest business association.


“We are proud to honor these manufacturers that are responsible for creating jobs and keeping our local economies strong,” said James S. Haney, president of Wisconsin Manufacturers & Commerce.  “Manufacturing creates economic growth that ripples throughout our economy, fostering job growth in other sectors.”

“Wisconsin manufacturers contribute to the vibrancy of Wisconsin and our communities through good business practices, innovative processes and productivity enhancements,” said Geoffrey Morgan,
a co-chair of the Business Practice Group at Michael Best & Friedrich LLP.  

Wisconsin Manufacturer of the Year Grand Award winners are recognized for overall outstanding achievement and categorized based on the number of employees.  The Community Commitment Grand Award is presented to a manufacturer for its outstanding community commitment and steadfast community involvement.  The High-Tech Grand award is presented to a high-tech manufacturer exemplifying innovation and leadership in its field.


Special Awards are presented to companies for achieving excellence in any one area.  Categories are determined by the judges based on information provided in nomination forms.  Forty manufacturers were nominated for this year’s awards.


An independent panel of judges, including leaders in business, government, education and the business media, evaluated the nominations.  The MOTY awards were presented Thursday at a black-tie banquet at the Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee.





Wisconsin Manufacturer of the Year Award Winners


Grand Award Winners                                                                        Category

Mercury Marine, Fond du Lac                                                                Mega (1000+ employees)

Ariens Company, Brillion                                                                       Large (300-999 employees)

Magnum Products, LLC, Berlin                                                              Medium (50-299 employees)

Tailored Label Products, Inc., Menomonee Falls                                      Small (1-49 employees)

Briggs & Stratton Corporation, Milwaukee                                              Community Commitment

WS Packaging Group, Inc., Algoma                                                        High-Tech


Special Award Winners

Kraft Pizza Company, Little Chute                                                         “Employee Involvement”

Wisconsin Aluminum Foundry Company, Inc., Manitowoc                       “Overcoming Obstacles”

Wiscraft, Inc., Milwaukee                                                                      “Excellence in the Face of Adversity”