SECUB: Business Health Care Group Informational Meetings To Be Held in Oak Creek and Franklin

Southeastern Chamber United in Business (SECUB)
8580 S. Howell Avenue
Oak Creek, WI 53154

March 2, 2006

For Immediate Release
Contact: Barbara Wesener, Executive Director

The Southeastern Chamber United in Business (SECUB) will hold information meetings on the Business Health Care Group and its health insurance coalition on Tuesday, March 7, from 6:00 p.m.- 8:00 p.m., at Parkway Christian Academy, 10940 South Nicholson Road, Oak Creek and on Monday, March 20, 6:00 p.m. – 8:00 p.m. Franklin Public Library, 9151 W. Loomis Road, Franklin. Dianne Kiehl, Executive Director of the Business Health Care Group of Southeastern Wisconsin (BHCGSW) and representatives from Humana Insurance will be the speakers.

The Southeastern Chamber has taken an important step in addressing the rising cost of health care and health care insurance for its Chamber members, according to Barbara Wesener, Executive Director of the Chamber.

The Chamber has joined the Business Health Care Group of Southeastern Wisconsin (BHCGSW.) Membership in the Group means that Humana Insurance can offer Southeastern Chamber members with two or more employees a group health insurance program.

Individual companies can also join the coalition on their own, but must pay the entry fee. That fee has been paid by the Chamber on behalf of all of its members so that the members can participate in the Business Health Care Group and the Humana Insurance.

According to the BHCGSW, companies representing approximately 135,000 southeastern Wisconsin consumers are in the process of transitioning their health benefits to this Humana program that began on January 1, 2006. It is expected that this coalition effort will dramatically change the local health care business environment.

Consumers in the program can select from more than 4,000 physicians and 26 area hospitals participating in Humana’s network of providers. The network will work like a traditional PPO.

Other Chambers that have already joined the coalition are Brookfield, Grafton, Hartford, Mequon-Thiensville, Oconomowoc, Sussex, West Bend, West Suburban and the Metropolitan Milwaukee Association of Commerce, according to Dianne Keihl, Executive Director of the BHCGSW.