Governor Doyle: Encourages Nominations for the 2006 Small Business Technology Transfer Award

Tuesday, March 7, 2006
Contacts: Tony Hozeny, Department of Commerce, 608-267-9661
Masood Akhtar, Center for Technology Transfer, 608-661-4081 
Anne Lupardus, Office of the Governor, 608-261-2162 

Governor Jim Doyle today encouraged nominations for the 2006 Small Business Technology Transfer Award.  Governor Doyle established this award in 2003 to recognize and reward the Wisconsin small business that shows outstanding achievement in moving a technological innovation from idea to market. Governor Doyle will present the award during the 2006 Wisconsin Entrepreneur’s Conference in Milwaukee on June 8-9, 2006.  

“Wisconsin is home to many entrepreneurs who are critical to our state’s economic growth,” Governor Doyle said.  “My Grow Wisconsin plan encourages entrepreneurs to translate their innovations into good, family-supporting jobs. This award will not only recognize a company for bringing a new product to market and providing high-quality jobs for our citizens, but will also provide an example to future entrepreneurs on how to achieve success.”

The award, jointly sponsored by the Wisconsin Department of Commerce, Michael Best & Friedrich, LLC, and the Center for Technology Transfer, is presented by Governor Doyle each year at the Wisconsin Entrepreneur’s Conference. The award includes a plaque and $5,000. 

Applicants must be a small business located in Wisconsin, and successful in the commercialization of a technological innovation (TI). The applicant must be selling product(s) linked to the specific TI commercialized by the applicant. A TI that originated outside of Wisconsin, but was commercialized by the applicant is considered eligible. Successful applicants will comply with all Submission Procedures.  A panel of technology and business experts from around the state has been be selected to review applications.

All applicants must be able to clearly describe the technology transfer experience unique to their TI. Nominations must be postmarked by or received via email by April 10, 2006.  Copies of the nomination package can be found at Contact Preston Schutt at 608-203-0116 or email [email protected] with questions.