MADISON – Five University of Wisconsin-Madison faculty members are among the 449
scientists and engineers to be awarded fellowships from the American Association for
the Advancement of Science (AAAS), which were announced this week (Nov. 23).

The AAAS grants the distinction to researchers advancing science and engineering in
significant ways. New fellows will be recognized at the Fellows Forum, held during
the 2007 AAAS annual meeting in San Francisco on Feb. 17.

UW-Madison faculty elected this year include:

– David A. Baum, professor of botany, for outstanding contributions in the
investigation of plant evolution and in teaching and mentoring in phylogenetics, the
study of evolutionary relationships between organisms, and evolutionary biology.

– Molly Jahn, dean of the College of Agricultural and Life Sciences, for research in
breeding new vegetable varieties for use around the world, and for gene discovery in
crop plants with a focus on economically important plant traits.

– Judith Kimble, professor of biochemistry, for outstanding contributions to the
understanding of the regulation of development at the molecular level in the
nematode C. elegans, a common model organism used among scientists.

– Richard L. Lindroth, professor of entomology, for pioneering studies in the
chemical ecology of plant-insect interactions, elucidating how genetics and resource
availability modulate plant defense responses.

– Janet E. Mertz, professor of oncology, for the development of recombinant DNA
methods and for the co-discovery of introns, messenger RNA transport elements and
mechanisms by which viruses regulate their expression.

The AAAS is the largest scientific society in the world. Founded in 1848, the AAAS
publishes the journal Science.