DATCP: Members Nominated to Livestock Siting Review Board

Release: 03/02/06
Contact: Jane H. Larson (608) 224-5005

MADISON-Secretary Rod Nilsestuen today announced his nominations for the seven members of the livestock siting rule review board.  Should a request for a new or expanded livestock operation be denied by local government, the board will serve as the venue of appeal.

The livestock siting law specified the make-up of the review board.  By law, Secretary Nilsestuen was required to choose nominees to represent towns, counties, livestock farming and environmental interests – from lists provided by organizations representing those interests–along with three at-large members.  The board members will serve staggered, five-year terms.

The nomimees are:

  • Lee Engelbrecht; Manitowoc County; Chair, Town of Two Creeks; Vice-President, Wisconsin Towns Association; nominated by Wisconsin Towns Association; will serve until May 1, 2007.

  • Andy Johnson; Marathon County; Marathon County conservationist; nominated by Wisconsin Counties Association; will serve until May 1, 2008.

  • Jim Holte; Dunn County; beef producer; Wisconsin Farm Bureau Federation Board of Directors; nominated by Wisconsin Farm Bureau Federation; will serve until May 1, 2010.

  • Bob Selk; Dane County; Trout Unlimited; former Assistant Attorney General; nominated by Trout Unlimited and Midwest Environmental Advocates; will serve until May 1, 2009.

At-large members:

  • Bob Topel; Dodge County; Vice-chair, Foremost Farms USA; Town of Portland Plan Commission; dairy producer; nominated by Wisconsin Federation of Cooperatives; will serve until May 1, 2011.

  • Fran Byerly; Barron County; Jennie-O Turkey Store; nominated by poultry working group; will serve until May 1, 2010.

  • Dr. Jerome Gaska; Columbia County; Gaska Dairy Health Service; nominated by Wisconsin Veterinary Medical Association; will serve until May 1, 2009.

The nominees must be confirmed by the state Senate.
The appeals process prescribes that only applicants and aggrieved parties (residents and property owners within a 2-mile radius of the proposed livestock facility) may appeal a decision to the Board.  The Board must make its decision within 60 days of receiving the record from the local government.

For more information on the Livestock Siting Review Board, contact Jennifer Heaton-Amrhein, 608-224-4613.