Dept. of Commerce: Governor Doyle Announces $250,000 in Technology Zone Tax Credits for C3 Corporation to Expand Operations in Appleton

Tony Hozeny, Department of Commerce, 608-267-9661

Ethnie Groves, Office of the Governor, 608-261-2156

Project Will Create 28 Jobs, Retain 18 Jobs

APPLETON – Governor Jim Doyle announced today that C3 Corporation of Appleton will receive $250,000 in Technology Zone tax credits to help the company with a $2.4 million project, constructing and equipping a new technology center in Appleton. The project will create 28 jobs and retain 18 jobs.

“Through my ‘Grow Wisconsin’ plan, we are working hard to invest in our economy and help high-tech companies expand, upgrade, and create new jobs,” Governor Doyle said. “I am pleased that the state can help C3 Corporation construct a new Technology Center and create good jobs for Outagamie County.”

“Support from the Governor and the City of Appleton allows us to more aggressively fund our strategy of continued expansion,” said C3 Corporation President Bruce Backer. “By attracting and retaining creative, high-tech employees, we are able to respond to the strong increase in demand for our technology-based services. Our new Technology Center is designed to accommodate our excellent team, and the future growth and investment that we project.”

C3 Corporation is a technology-based company that develops innovative solutions to improve clients’ manufacturing processes across North America, including Custom Machines, and Engineering Services and Information Systems. C3 electrical and mechanical engineers provide assistance through all project phases – concept, design, programming, assembly, installation, training, and support. During 2005, C3 will construct a new 18,000 square foot technology center in Appleton’s Northeast Business Park.

C3 is in the Northeast Wisconsin Regional Economic Partnership (NEWREP) Technology Zone, which provides incentives for high-tech growth in Engineering/Design, Electronics, and Wood/Forestry related products, among others. The NEWREP Technology Zone includes the counties of Brown, Calumet, Door, Florence, Fond du Lac, Kewaunee, Manitowoc, Marinette, Menominee, Oconto, Outagamie, Shawano, Sheboygan, Waupaca, Waushara, and Winnebago.

For more information on C3, visit their website at For more information about the Technology Zone program, contact Todd Jensen, Department of Commerce, at 608-266-3074.