September 24, 2021

ANNOUNCING THE ANNUAL WISCONSIN CREATIVE COMMUNITY CHAMPION AWARDS (formerly Arts in the Community Awards)

Presented by Arts Wisconsin in partnership with the League of Wisconsin Municipalities

More info at www.artswisconsin.org/programsservices/awards

Honoring Wisconsin's municipal Poets Laureate and Writers-in-Residence

Arts Wisconsin, in partnership with the League of Wisconsin Municipalities, presents the annual *Wisconsin Creative Champions Awards* (former *Arts in the Community Awards*). These awards honor civic leaders as champions and communities in Wisconsin focused on creativity as integral to civic engagement, community vitality, and access for everyone, everywhere in the state. **The 2021 honorees are Wisconsin's municipal Poets Laureate and Writers-in-Residence:**



LaMoine MacLaughlin, Poet Laureate, City of Amery Amery



Ken Szymanski, Writer in Residence, City of Eau Claire



Joseph Engel,
Poet Laureate, City of
Kenosha



Angela Trudell Vasquez,
Poet Laureate, City of
Madison



Dasha Kelly Hamilton,
Poet Laureate, City of
Milwaukee (also
Wisconsin Poet Laureate



Debra Hall,
Poet Laureate, City of
Racine



<u>Lisa Vihos</u>, Poet Laureate, City of Sheboygan



<u>Dawn Anderson</u>, Poet Laureate, City of Wausau

Poets Laureate and Writers-in-Residence are officially appointed by their municipalities as ambassadors of poetry, literature, literature, and storytelling, and leading community-oriented projects for and with local residents. Establishing a community Poet Laureate provides opportunities for greater appreciation of poetry and creativity, and recognizes the place that poetry has in a community's cultural tradition and civic life. Any community of any size can establish a Poet Laureate or Writer in Residence program.

The Awards will be presented to the Poets Laureate/Writers in Residence and leaders from their communities at the League of Municipalities' annual conference, October 21-22, 2021, in Green Bay.

Award sponsors:

Gold Sponsors
Guardian Fine Art Services, Milwaukee
League of Wisconsin Municipalities
Wisconsin Downtown Action Council

Silver Sponsors
Ward-Brodt Music, Madison
Wisconsin Counties Association

Bronze Sponsors
Arts for All Wisconsin
Association of Wisconsin Symphony Orchestras

Footlights.com
Heid Music, Appleton, Green Bay, Madison, Oshkosh,
Stevens Pt
HomeLight.com – Madison realtors
Vierbicher, Madison, Pewaukee, Prairie du Chien,
Reedsburg
Wisconsin Craft
Wisconsin Presenters Network

Rose Sponsor gener8tor.com, Milwaukee

About the presenting organizations:

- Arts Wisconsin is Wisconsin's community cultural development organization, ensuring equity and access
 to creative opportunities for everyone, everywhere in the state, for economic vitality, education for the
 21st century, vibrant communities, and engaged residents. www.artswisconsin.org
- The **League of Wisconsin Municipalities** is a nonprofit and nonpartisan association of cities and villages that acts as an information clearinghouse, lobbying organization, technical assistance provider, and legal resource throughout Wisconsin. **www.lwm-info.org**

Previous Arts in the Community honorees:

- 2020: Zach Vruwink, Administrator, City of Rhinelander and former Mayor, City of Wisconsin Rapids
- **2019:** the City of Waupaca and the Waupaca Arts and Culture Coalition for ongoing partnership on the city's first-ever cultural plan, and Altoona Mayor Brendan Pratt
- **2018:** Ken Juon, President, Board of Directors, Artstart, Rhinelander, and Ryan Heise, Village Administrator, Village of Egg Harbor
- **2017:** Mark Elliott, Executive Director, Northwest Passage, Webster; and Stephanie Samarripa, Anti-Graffiti Program Coordinator, City of Milwaukee Department of Neighborhood Services

- 2016: Creative Downtown Appleton, led by Josh Dukelow, community activist, and Paula Vandehey, City of Appleton Public Works Director; and Alan Nugent, civic leader and a founder of the Widespot Performing Arts Center in Stockholm
- **2015:** the City of West Bend, for long-term commitment to promote the visual and performing arts in West Bend; and the Waunakee Creative Economy Initiative, a village-led, ongoing effort to grow Waunakee's creative economy.
- **2014:** Circuit Court Judge Joseph Boles and Pierce County Criminal Justice Coordinating Council, based in Ellsworth, WI, for using the arts to improve law enforcement training in de-escalating mental health crisis calls; and Reedsburg Mayor Dave Estes, City Administrator Ken Witt, and Chamber of Commerce Director Kristine Koenecke for support of *Fermentation Fest and* the *Farm/Art DTour*.
- 2013: Rice Lake Main Street Program and the Sheboygan Performing Arts Association, Sheboygan
- 2012: State Sen. Sheila Harsdorf, River Falls; State Sen. Bob Jauch, Poplar; Marlene Doerr Kreilkamp, Founder, SHARP Literacy, Milwaukee; Anastasia Shartin, Visual Arts Director, Phipps Center for the Arts, Hudson
- **2011:** Bill Schierl, President, Arts Alliance of Portage County, Stevens Point; and former Mayor Jeff Scrima, Waukesha
- 2010: Lois Smith, founder of "Walls of Wittenberg," Wittenberg; Julia Taylor, President, Greater Milwaukee
 Committee, Milwaukee; the Green Bay Neighborhood Leadership Council's Beautification Committee, Green
 Bay; and The Hometown Gazette newspaper, Clayton
- 2009: Carol Kratchowill, Vice President, Sauk County Art Association, Merrimac; and Former Menomonie Mayor Dennis Cropp and former Dunn County Board member B. Jane Hoyt, for the Mabel Tainter Center for the Arts, Menomonie.

For more information on the *Creative Champion Awards*, Wisconsin's creative sector, and Arts Wisconsin, contact Anne Katz, Executive Director, 608 255 8316 | akatz@artswisconsin.org.