Wisconsin Bankers Association Board: Elects Madison-based banker as chair

MADISON – Ken Thompson, president and CEO of Capitol Bank, has been elected to serve as the 2021–2022 board chair of the Wisconsin Bankers Association (WBA).

The Wisconsin Bankers Association is the state’s largest financial industry trade association, representing more than 200 commercial banks and savings institutions, their branches, and over 21,000 employees.

“Ken brings decades of banking experience and a wealth of knowledge to the WBA Board,” said Rose Oswald Poels, WBA president and CEO. “He will do an excellent job of leading our Board and industry forward in the post-pandemic economy.”

Thompson has been in the Madison banking industry for over 35 years, joining Capitol Bank in 1996. He has extensive experience in all areas of lending. Thompson was named president in 2003 and serves on the bank’s board of directors. Thompson holds a bachelor’s degree in business from UW-Stevens Point and earned his MBA from UW-Madison in 1997. He completed the Graduate School of Banking in Madison in 2004 and is a graduate of Leadership Greater Madison #2. 

Community involvement is greatly valued by Thompson, displayed by years of working with a variety of local nonprofits including American Family Children’s Hospital, Agrace Hospice Care (treasurer), Catholic Charities, and the Breakfast Optimist Club of Madison. Thompson also serves on the boards for Hy Cite Enterprises and Extreme Engineering. Thompson enjoys spending time with his wife and two children, especially outdoors. His pastimes include golf, racquetball, and hunting.

Also serving as officers on the WBA Board are: Chair-Elect Dan Peterson, president and CEO of The Stephenson National Bank & Trust, Marinette; Vice Chair Donna Hoppenjan, president and CEO of Mound City Bank, Platteville; and Past Chair Paul Kohler, president and CEO of Charter Bank, Eau Claire.

Joining the board for three-year terms are Greg Ogren, president of Security Bank, Iron River; Jay Mack, president and CEO of Town Bank, N.A., Hartland; and Dan Ravenscroft, president and CEO of Royal Bank, Elroy.

Those continuing their terms on the board are: Al Araque, SVP, director of consumer and private banking, Johnson Financial Group, Racine; Jim Chatterton, president and CEO, National Exchange Bank & Trust, Fond du Lac; Mark Erickson, regional president, MidWestOne Bank, Osceola; Timothy Kotnour, president and CEO, State Bank Financial, La Crosse; Paul Northway, president and CEO, American National Bank – Fox Cities, Appleton; Joe Peikert, president and CEO, Wolf River Community Bank, Hortonville; Jenny Provancher, president and CEO, The Equitable Bank, S.S.B., Wauwatosa; Terry Rosengarten, president and COO, Unity Bank, Augusta; and Mark Wierman, president and chief lending officer, Ixonia Bank.