Wisconsin Bankers Association: Milwaukee banker leading Wisconsin Bankers Association

For more information, contact:
Eric Skrum, Wisconsin Bankers Association 
608/441-1216 | (c) 608/445-6430 | [email protected]
Twitter: @wisbank


MADISON – David P. Werner, president/CEO of Park Bank, Milwaukee, has been elected to serve as the 2018-2019 chair of the Wisconsin B[email protected]ankers Association (WBA).

The Wisconsin Bankers Association is the state’s largest financial industry trade association, representing nearly 250 commercial banks and savings institutions, their nearly 2,300 branch offices and 23,000 employees. 

Werner’s career in banking started with a college internship at West Allis State Bank. Werner’s 30-year career in banking spans overall banking operations and management, commercial lending, and other financing options for small and medium-sized businesses. Werner has been with Park Bank since 1989, when he joined as a commercial banker. He progressively held the positions of vice president, first vice president, senior vice president and market manager. In 2010, Dave was appointed president of Park Bank and in early 2014 was given the additional title of CEO. Born and raised in the Milwaukee area, Milwaukee is home to Dave and his family. He serves on the following community organization boards: Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin Foundation; the Greater Milwaukee Committee (as co-chair of GMC Scale Up MKE Initiative); Junior Achievement of Wisconsin; past Chairman of MMAC’s Council of Small Business Executives – current MMAC Board member; Mount Mary University Board of Trustees; Park Bank/Bankmanagers Corp. Board; the Park Bank Foundation. He also served on the 2017-2018 United Way of Greater Milwaukee Campaign Cabinet. In addition, Werner is a guest speaker for Marquette University’s M.B.A. and banking programs on the topics of entrepreneurism, business management, and banking operations.

Also serving as officers on the WBA Board are: Chair-Elect Mark Meloy, CEO of First Business Bank, Madison; Vice Chair Paul Kohler, president and CEO of Charter Bank, Eau Claire; and Past Chair Cynthia Erdman, president of Partnership Bank, Tomah. 

Joining the board for three-year terms are: Donna Hoppenjan, president & CEO of Mound City Bank, Platteville; Gerald H. Jacobson, President, Northwestern Bank, Chippewa Falls; Daniel J. Peterson, President/CEO, The Stephenson National Bank & Trust, Marinette; and Thomas A. Reil, president, Waldo State Bank. 

Those continuing their terms on the board are: Christopher Del Moral-Niles, Executive Vice President/CFO, Associated Bank, Green Bay; Sang Kim, regional president – WI, BMO Harris Bank, Milwaukee; Scott Kopp, President/CEO, Bank of Galesville; Mark Mohr, President/CEO, First Bank Financial Centre, Oconomowoc; Marty Reinhart, President/CEO, Heritage Bank, Spencer; Ken Thompson, president & CEO, Capitol Bank, Madison; Scot Thompson, president/CEO, Denmark State Bank; and Tom Van Pelt, President/CEO, Citizens State Bank, Hudson.