WMC: Manufacturer of the Year Awards announced

Contact: Nick Novak, nnovak@wmc.org, 608.258.3400

Seven Wisconsin companies were awarded prestigious Wisconsin Manufacturer of the Year Awards for outstanding achievements in manufacturing. The winners were announced Thursday, February 23 at a black-tie banquet honoring the 26 nominees.

The annual Manufacturer of the Year Awards Program recognizes Wisconsin companies that demonstrate a commitment to business excellence, which has a positive impact on the company and the state, making Wisconsin a better place to live, work and play.

“This program honors top manufacturers in our state and highlights their impact on Wisconsin’s economy,” said Kevin Heppner, Managing Partner at Baker Tilly. “A strong manufacturing sector leads to countless jobs for Wisconsinites.”

In its 29th year, the Manufacturer of the Year Awards Program recognizes companies of all sizes for all they do to drive Wisconsin’s economy. Companies were evaluated in areas such as financial growth or consistency, technological advances, product development, environmental solutions and sustainability, operational excellence and continuous improvement, commitment to employees and effective research and development. Award winners were selected by an independent panel of judges.

“Our winners, nominees and manufacturers all across the state help to build up our local economies,” added David Krutz, Managing Partner at Michael Best. “These companies provide family-supporting careers that create a vibrant middle-class.”

Four Grand Award winners, categorized by number of employees, were recognized for impeccable performance. This year, three companies were also honored for awards in special categories, including community stewardship, market adaptability and emerging technology.

“Our state’s manufacturers are a critical part of Wisconsin’s heritage and Wisconsin’s future,” said Kurt R. Bauer, President/CEO of Wisconsin Manufacturers and Commerce. “We are proud to honor many of the manufacturers at this program that are utilizing new technologies and innovation that will change the way we look at the industry.”

The accounting and advisory firm of Baker Tilly, the law firm of Michael Best and the business association Wisconsin Manufacturers & Commerce sponsor the Manufacturer of the Year Awards Program. Additional information can be found online at www.wimoty.com<http://r20.rs6.net/tn.jsp?f=001-xFQONheY4K5d_4tV1szjJ_dXzxV4hxwETXlsde8TOcxl6NSl7AyHobl7O_zXFdPGQu218CBSU4q1YgRMqq70kkGr_3vUvJQluBrqk3_p_JD_p4546sboPdTJIn9Demf-arvOcJjVw5wgFQoXhUqx_JONuR8iZS2bDd0wgrfWFA=&c=hZLaDOxf1RU6qc8a7ojT-zp-cT61Y6qRmWMMcNq_ZFWOMppsXLATbw==&ch=a0vHjNe2EQ2rWmanwKSYAPqLgGw5aWcvRLBiBltuYv6rnYpxA3DzjA==> or by calling (800) 362-7301.

29th Annual Wisconsin Manufacturer of the Year Award Winners:

Grand Awards:
General Plastics, Milwaukee – Small Category
Hyrdo-Thermal Corporation, Waukesha – Medium Category
Mortara Instrument, Inc., Milwaukee – Large Category
Greenheck Fan Corporation, Schofield – Mega Category

Special Award Winners:
Sargento Food, Inc., Plymouth – Community Stewardship
Orion Energy Systems, Manitowoc – Market Adaptability
Midwest Prototyping, Blue Mounds – Emerging Technology