Wisconsin Safety Council: 11 companies win Wisconsin Corporate Safety Awards

Contact: Nick Novak

MADISON – The Wisconsin Safety Council, the state’s leading provider of safety training and programming, and the Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development (DWD) will honor 11 companies with this year’s Wisconsin Corporate Safety Award.

“This year, we are honored to recognize these employers who truly make safety part of their culture,” said Janie Ritter, Director of the Wisconsin Safety Council. “From all of us at WSC, we congratulate the winning companies, along with the many finalists from across the state. All of them make their employees’ safety a top priority every day, and that should be celebrated.”

The winners were chosen based on information they provided on their organization’s safety and health leadership, training and implementation programs and employee participation. Their applications also included information on their safety accomplishments and goals. The applications were judged by an independent panel of 33 safety, insurance and human resource professionals.

Department of Workforce Development Secretary Ray Allen said, “The Department of Workforce Development is proud to recognize these great Wisconsin employers who, as recipients of Wisconsin Corporate Safety Awards, are demonstrating a commitment to professional safety that should be emulated across the state. Workplace safety is a vital component of both talent recruitment and retention.”

The awards will be presented during the 75th annual Wisconsin Safety and Health Conference at the Kalahari Resort and Convention Center in Wisconsin Dells on April 11-12, 2017.

Award Winners:

USG Structural Technologies – Delevan

Oshkosh Defense, LLC – West Plant, Oshkosh

Calumet Superior, LLC – Superior Refinery, Superior

ABB Inc., – New Berlin

Oshkosh Defense, LLC – Harrison Street Facility, Oshkosh

Fincantieri Bay Shipbuilding – Sturgeon Bay

NextEra Energy Point Beach Nuclear Plant – Two Rivers

Lakehead Painting Company, Inc., – Superior

The Boldt Company – Appleton

Viking Gas Transmission – Chippewa Falls/Osceola

ITU AbsorbTech – New Berlin