Smith & Gesteland, LLP: 2016 Wisconsin Family Business of the Year award winners announced

Contact: Neil Fauerbach, Partner – Director of Marketing

Smith & Gesteland, LLP

Office: 608-828-3110 – email: [email protected]

Cell: 608-345-8178

Madison, WI – May 12, 2016: Six family businesses were honored in the thirteenth annual

Wisconsin Family Business of the Year Award banquet held Thursday evening at the Monona

Terrace Community and Convention Center in Madison. Three grand awards were presented

along with three special awards.

“Family business leaders focus on the next generation, not the next quarter. They tend to embrace

strategies that put customers and employees first and emphasize social responsibility” stated Julie

Bogle, lead Partner in the Family Business practice at Smith & Gesteland, the award founding

sponsor. “They continue to act as leaders in their communities. We love recognizing the

wonderful things they have done in Wisconsin.” she stated.

Fifteen companies were nominated for the awards. Winners were selected by an independent

panel of judges. Grand Awards were presented in three size categories: Large (100+ employees),

Medium (50-99), and Small (under 50). Special awards were given by the judges to companies

excelling in a particular area.

Grand Awards

Empire Screen Printing, Onalaska – Large Company

Badger Basement Systems, Fort Atkinson – Medium Company

Shiloh Dairy, Brillion – Small Company

Special Awards/Title

Architectural Design System, Inc., Lake Delton – “Communication – Commitment -Creativity”

Gordon Flesch Company, Madison – “Wired for Success Award”

Tamara’s the Cake Guru, Oshkosh – “Sweet Success”

About the Award: The Wisconsin Family Business of the Year Award is sponsored by

Smith & Gesteland, LLP, a Madison-based CPA and Business Consulting firm, First

Business Bank, and the Whyte Hirschboeck Dudek law firm, to highlight and celebrate

the accomplishments and contributions of family businesses that make an impact on their

communities and on the Wisconsin economy.

Further information about the award can be found at