Smith and Gesteland: 2016 Wisconsin Family Business of the Year Award nominations open

For additional information contact

Neil Fauerbach

Smith & Gesteland

608-828-3110 direct

608-345-8178 cell

[email protected]

2016 Wisconsin Family Business of the Year Award Nominations Open

The Wisconsin Family Business of the Year Award is underway and accepting nominations from businesses throughout the state. The award, now in its thirteenth year, celebrates the accomplishments and the impact that family-owned businesses have on our communities.

In the United States, there are more than 10 million family businesses. From iconic family enterprises like ABC Supply in Beloit to small businesses like Glorious Malone’s Fine Sausage in Milwaukee, their economic influence is enormous, producing an estimated 50 percent of the nation’s gross domestic product and paying 65 percent of all wages. Family-owned businesses plan for a longer time horizon than publicly traded companies. They are frugal, carry less debt, and tend to keep their good talent. All keys to a great company.

Since the beginning of the award program, winners have included dairy farms, grocery stores, restaurants, contractors, and manufacturers – businesses that represent what we think of as family businesses. 88 family-owned businesses have been recognized for their contributions to their communities, their industries, and the economy.

One family business will be selected for Grand Awards in each category of small (under 50 employees), medium (50-99), and large (100 or more) businesses. Special awards will also be given to businesses excelling in a particular area. Self-nominations are encouraged, or nominations can be made on behalf of the business by consultants, vendors, clients, or friends. An independent panel of judges will select the award recipients. The deadline for nominations is April 13, 2016. Awards will be presented at a banquet to be held at the Monona Terrace Community and Convention Center in Madison on May 12, 2016.

The awards program is sponsored by Smith & Gesteland, a CPA firm, First Business Bank, and the Whyte, Hirschboeck, Dudek law firm.

Additional information about the program, including a list of past winners, and nomination forms can be found at, or by calling 608-836-7500.