Wisconsin Safety Council: 14 Wisconsin companies receive corporate safety awards

Janie Ritter, 608.661.6930

Katy Pettersen, 608.661.6916

Companies will be honored at 73rd Annual Wisconsin Safety & Health Conference and Expo April 21-22

Madison – The Wisconsin Safety Council and the Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development (DWD) announced 14 companies will receive the 2014 Wisconsin Corporate Safety Award, and one individual will be honored at the 73rd Annual Wisconsin Safety & Health Conference and Exposition.

“Wisconsin is very proud to be considered one the safest states in which to work. This year’s winners are an embodiment of that and a testament to the skill and genuine care each Wisconsin worker has for their employers, co-workers and community,” said Janie Ritter, director of the Wisconsin Safety Council. “This year’s winning companies serve as an inspiration to the entire Wisconsin business community for making safety an integral part of every day.”

Of the 117 companies who submitted applications this year, 80 were qualified finalists. Each of the finalists provided details on their organization’s safety and health leadership, training and implementation programs, and employee participation. Their reports also included information on their safety accomplishments and goals.

The applications were judged by an independent panel of 33 safety, health, and human resource professionals. The 14 awards will be presented during the Conference at the Kalahari Resort and Convention Center, Wisconsin Dells on April 21 and 22.

“On behalf of Gov. Walker, I congratulate the 2014 Wisconsin Corporate Safety Award winners, who are leading by example proving how safety is important to the success of a company,” stated Department of Workforce Development Secretary Reggie Newson. “Wisconsin businesses and employees understand the responsibility of safety to both improve workers skills to be able to perform their very best on the job.”

The 2014 Wisconsin Corporate Safety Award winners are:

•Agropur inc., Luxemburg

•Alliant Energy Corporation – WPL, Madison

•The Boldt Company, Appleton

•Chr. Hansen, Inc., Milwaukee

•Colony Brands, Inc., Monroe

•Energis High Voltage Resources, Inc. – Green Bay

•ITU AbsorbTech, Inc., New Berlin

•Lakehead Painting Company, Inc. Superior

•Northeast Asphalt Inc., Greenville

•Phillips-Medisize – Design Development Center, Hudson

•Phillips-Medisize – Phillips Medical, Menomonie

•Teel Plastics, Inc., Baraboo

•Tyco Fire Protection Products, Marinette

•USG Structural Technologies, LLC, Delevan

Bill Morgan, President of Johnsonville Sausage, LLC will be honored as the 14th inductee into the Wisconsin Safety Hall of Fame.

About Wisconsin Safety Council

The Wisconsin Safety Council is the state’s leading provider of workplace safety training and programming. Established in 1923, it is an educational division of Wisconsin Manufacturers & Commerce, the state manufacturers’ association, and is the state chapter of the National Safety Council. For more information, contact the Wisconsin Safety Council at 800.236.3400 or visit www.wisafetycouncil.org.