Wisconsin Manufacturers & Commerce: Ellsworth Cooperative Creamery wins 2014 Wisconsin manufacturer of the year award


Thursday, February 26

Contact: Katy Pettersen, 608.661.6916 or 608.516.6684 (cell)

Ellsworth company wins special award for marketplace opportunity

Milwaukee – Ellsworth Cooperative Creamery is one of seven Wisconsin companies awarded a prestigious Wisconsin Manufacturer of the Year Award. The winners were announced Thursday night at a black tie banquet honoring the 40 nominees.

Ellsworth has a rich, 104-year history. While the product they manufacture has remained consistent for the past 50 years, their strategy for bringing that product to market has shifted considerably. Throughout the past six years they have been transitioning away from the commodities market to instead focus on building a brand consumers recognize for quality and value. Due to Ellsworth’s extensive marketing efforts their retail stores have become day trip destinations and attract thousands of tourists annually. They draw an astounding 75 percent of their traffic from outside of the area.

For the past five years Ellsworth Cooperative Creamery’s stores have experienced sales increases of 15 to 20 percent annually. With a high quality, wholesome product, a good reputation and loyal customers, they have continued to expand production to keep up with growing demand for their products.

Today their Ellsworth facility is fondly known as the Cheese Curd Capital of Wisconsin, a title given by Governor Anthony S. Earl back in 1984.

Celebrating its 27th year, the Manufacturer of the Year Award program recognizes manufacturers of all sizes and industries for their contributions to the great state of Wisconsin. The Wisconsin Manufacturer of the Year award winners were selected by an independent panel of judges representing manufacturing, service and the public sector.

The accounting and advisory firm of Baker Tilly, the law firm of Michael Best & Friedrich LLP, and the business association Wisconsin Manufacturers & Commerce sponsor the MOTY awards program.

Additional information can be found online at www.wimoty.com or by calling (800) 362-7301.

The 2014 winners are:

Grand Awards

HUSCO International, Inc., Waukesha – Mega Category

Seats, Incorporated, Reedsburg – Large Category
Spectrum Industries, Incorporated, Chippewa Falls – Medium Category

General Plastics, Inc., Milwaukee – Small Category

E.K. Machine Co. Inc., Fall River – Workforce Development Category

Special Awards

Ellsworth Cooperative Creamery, Ellsworth – Marketplace Opportunity Award

Universal Acoustic & Emission Technologies, Inc., Stoughton – Employee Development & Commitment Award