Progress Lakeshore: Annual awards breakfast held May 5th

Progress Lakeshore’s Annual Awards Breakfast Held May 5th

MANITOWOC, Wis., May 5, 2015 — Progress Lakeshore held its Fourth Annual Excellence in Economic Development Awards Breakfast on Tuesday, May 5 at Knox’s Silver Valley Banquet Hall, Manitowoc. The event was sponsored by Lakeshore Technical College (Platinum level sponsor) and BMO Harris Bank (Gold level sponsor).

The Annual Awards Breakfast recognizes the best economic development projects and the year’s most influential leaders. These prestigious awards honor organizations and individuals for their efforts in creating positive change in our community. The event was attended by over 100 community and business leaders in support of Progress Lakeshore and economic development in our community.

Past Board President Will Casey (Owner, Access Investment Advisors) introduced the 2015 board members including new member Tom Ellenbecker, principal of Mishicot High School. Will also thanked outgoing board members, presenting a plaque to local Perkins owner Mark Ring for 10 years of service on the board and past board president. Mark Herzog (President and CEO, Holy Family Memorial) was welcomed as incoming board president; Herzog recognized Casey for his leadership as immediate past president. Peter Wills was introduced as Progress Lakeshore’s newly appointed Executive Director.

Michael Lanser, President of Lakeshore Technical College (LTC) and Progress Lakeshore board member, addressed the audience regarding the critical importance of Progress Lakeshore and LTC’s ongoing support.

The Lakeshore Economic Analysis Project (LEAP) was launched by Dean Halverson (Leede Research) and Tom Detienne (Investors Community Bank). LEAP – sponsored by Leede Research and Investors Community Bank – is an important study of the business community in Manitowoc County. The program will be a measurement of the economy of the Lakeshore from the perspective of local businesses, with initial results expected to be announced in the fall.

The following four awards were presented to local businesses and individuals for contributions to the lakeshore community:

The Rising Star Award, sponsored by Ansay & Associates, was presented to Two Rivers Clothing Company as an emerging small business that has developed their ideas, products and services into a viable, competitive business.

Sponsored by Holy Family Memorial, the Neighborhood Development Award was presented to Ironwood Plastics. This award recognizes innovative real estate development or reuse projects which are purpose built or adaptively reused for the creation of jobs or for increasing the tax base. Winning projects will also serve as a catalyst for economic development and will demonstrate an innovative partnership approach between private and public sectors.

The Corporate Investment Award, sponsored by Schenck SC, was presented to Amerequip Corporation. The Corporate Investment Award recognizes a business that has made a positive economic impact on the community (employment growth); has expanded the business facility or products/services (business growth); is active in community service and leadership; and has developed innovative efforts used to adapt to marketplace change.

The Economic Accelerator of the Year Award was presented to Greg Buckley, Two Rivers City Manager. This award, sponsored by Leede Research, recognizes an individual who has played a key leadership role in economic development. Nominees must demonstrate effective leadership in mobilizing the development of programs and projects and to be an advocate for economic development.

Progress Lakeshore’s investors and municipal partners were recognized for their ongoing contribution in supporting Economic Development of the Manitowoc area.

“Progress Lakeshore staff and board members would like to thank our sponsors and offer our most sincere congratulations to the award winners. Thank you for choosing to make Manitowoc County your home!”