DATCP: Wisconsin Corn Promotion Board election under way

Media Contact: Rick Hummell 608-224-5041 [email protected]

MADISON – Corn growers in three Wisconsin Corn Promotion Board districts have until January 10, 2016 to vote for new members to fill open seats on the board. Positions up for election are those representing Districts 4, 8 and 9. Voting opened Dec. 15, 2015.

Nominated in District 4 is Calvin Dalton of Endeavor; nominated in District 8 is David Adams of Lake Geneva; and nominated in District 9 is Whilden (Randy) Hughes of Janesville.

The three districts include the following counties:

District 4: Adams, Columbia, Juneau, Marquette, Monroe and Waushara
District 8: Jefferson, Kenosha, Racine and Walworth
District 9: Green and Rock

Eligible corn growers in those districts have been mailed ballots. If you have not received your ballot by December 18, 2015, call 608-224-5116 or email [email protected] to request a ballot be mailed to you.

Returned ballots must be postmarked on or before January 10, 2016 to: Wisconsin DATCP, Market Orders Program, P.O. Box 8911, Madison, WI 53708. Refer questions to Stacie Ashby at 608-224-5116.

Voters must be careful to complete and return both sides of the ballot. Ballots without both a vote and a signature will be invalid and will not be counted. Voters may choose to write in the names of eligible representatives in the district.

The Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP) administers elections for the Wisconsin Corn Promotions Board and other commodity marketing boards in the state. Each year, three of the three-year terms expire on the nine-member corn promotions board.

To learn more about the market order boards, visit http://datcp.wi.gov/About/Boards_and_Councils/Marketing_Boards.