DATCP: Wisconsin Corn Promotion Board nominations open

Contact: Ashley Andre, 608-224-5002, [email protected]

Jim Dick, Communications Director, 608-224-5020, [email protected]

MADISON – The Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection (DATCP) is now accepting nominations for the Wisconsin Corn Promotion Board. Farmers can self-nominate or nominate another farmer through November 27, 2013.

There are three open board member positions. Farmers who grow and sell corn in the following counties are eligible:

* District 1: Douglas, Bayfield, Ashland, Iron, Vilas, Burnett, Washburn, Sawyer, Price, Oneida, Polk, Barron, Rusk, Lincoln, Chippewa, Taylor, Eau Claire, Clark, Marathon, Jackson, Wood, Portage, and Waupaca counties.

* District 2 – St. Croix, Dunn, Pierce, Pepin, Buffalo, and Trempealeau counties.

* District 7 – Green Lake, Dodge, Washington, Ozaukee, Waukesha, and Milwaukee counties.

The Wisconsin Corn Promotion Board has nine members who represent about 18,000 corn growers across the state. The Board is responsible for the use of assessment dollars for research, product development, international marketing and education.

To receive a nomination form, contact DATCP’s Noel Favia at 608-224-5140 or the Wisconsin Corn Promotion Board at 262-495-2232. A nomination form must include signatures of at least five other eligible corn farmers from the district in which the nominee is running for election.

Elections for the Wisconsin Corn Promotion Board will be held from December 16, 2013 through January 3, 2014. Elected board members will serve three-year terms beginning February 1, 2014.