CUNA Mutual Group: Presents 50 scholarships in Dane County, totaling $25,000

From CUNA Mutual Group Public Relations

For more information:
Rick Uhlmann 608/665-8940 [email protected]
Jim Buchheim 608/665-6327 [email protected]

June 13 , 2013


‘Growing in the Right Direction’ Program Rewards Classroom, Community Achievements

MADISON, Wis. – Fifty high school seniors from 25 Dane County schools have received $500 scholarships through CUNA Mutual Group’s Growing in the Right Direction scholarship program, which recognizes students who stand out in the classroom and their communities.

This is the sixth year of CUNA Mutual Group’s Growing in the Right Direction scholarship. The goal of the scholarships is to help students succeed in life by rewarding their performance in the classroom and commitment to their communities.

“We salute these scholarship recipients for their commitment to the community and to higher learning,” said Steve Goldberg, executive director of the CUNA Mutual Foundation.

Qualifying students must have contributed to their school or community through volunteerism, show academic promise and plan to attend a 2- or 4- year degree-granting school of higher learning in the state of Wisconsin.

Students receiving $500 scholarships include:

Abundant Life H.S. – Dylan R. Rockwell, Grant “Joseph” Berggren;
Belleville H.S. – Sofia Julian, Thomas Lynch;
Cambridge H.S. – Emily Gobel and Meredith Johnson;
Deerfield H.S. – Kylie Kinney, Jordalyn Simpson;
DeForest H.S. – Jamie Truitt, Kiley Mulcahy;
Edgewood H.S. – Emma Johnson, Jennifer Bird;
Madison East H.S. – Jacob Benford, Kim Chung
Madison La Follette H.S. – Madeline Westberg, Patrick Bass;
Madison Memorial H.S. – Aneda Lor, Maui Doua Lee;
Madison West H.S. – Sam Block, Juan Aguirre;
Malcolm Shabazz H.S. – Jessie Brown, Helena Davenport;
Marshall H.S. – Shyann Zwicky, Wesley Kutzke;
McFarland H.S. – Chloe Pionek, Kayla Haas;
Middleton H.S. – Matthew Oswald, Paige Gundrum;
Monona Grove H.S. – Grant Smith, Paige Mulroe;
Mount Horeb H.S. – Ailish Burns, Matea Losenegger;
Omega School – Carmen Mercado, Tsering Wangyal
Oregon H.S. – David Halliinan, Amanda Cody;
Operation Fresh Start – Olena Dawson, Vernon Richardson;
St. Ambrose Academy – Daniel Schiedermayer, Taylor Balzer;
Stoughton H.S. – Katlynn Wirag, Katerina Patrinos;
Sun Prairie H.S. – Jessica Muesbeck, Steven Plesh;
Verona H.S. – Shamairra Belcher, Mulki Nur;
Waunakee H.S. – Adriana M. Andrade-Velasco, Allison Kaye Zauner;
Wisconsin Heights H.S. – Shannon Kahl and Bailey Mickelson

To learn more, follow @CUNAMutualGroup on Twitter, circle +CUNA Mutual Group on Google+, or visit

CUNA Mutual Group insurance, retirement and investment products provide financial security and protection to credit unions and their members worldwide. With more than 75 years of true market commitment, CUNA Mutual Group’s vision is unwavering: To be a trusted business partner who delivers service excellence through customer-focused products and market-driven insight. More information on the company is available on the company’s website at

CUNA Mutual Group is the marketing name for CUNA Mutual Holding Company, a mutual insurance holding company, its subsidiaries and affiliates. Life, accident, health and annuity insurance products are issued by CMFG Life Insurance Company. Property and casualty insurance products are issued by CUMIS Insurance Society, Inc. Each insurer is solely responsible for the financial obligations under the policies and contracts it issues. Corporate headquarters are located in Madison, Wis.