WMC, Baker Tilly, Michael Best & Friedrich: Seven Wisconsin companies win 2010 Wisconsin Manufacturer of the Year Award

Contact: Katy Ryder Pettersen, (608) 661-6916

Milwaukee – Seven Wisconsin companies were awarded a prestigious Wisconsin Manufacturer of the Year Award, competing against 53 total nominees, and one individual was honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award in Manufacturing. The winners were announced at a black tie banquet Thursday night at The Pfister Hotel in Milwaukee.

The winners are:

Grand Awards

GE Healthcare Imaging Subsystems, Milwaukee – Mega and Sustainability Categories;

Dickten Masch Plastics, Waukesha – Large Category;

Briess Industries, Inc., Chilton – Medium Category;

Hydro-Thermal Corporation, Waukesha – Small Category.

Special Awards

Atlas Resin Proppants, Taylor – Team Commitment to the Community Award;

HWD Acquisition, dba Hurd Windows & Doors, Medford – Local to Global Commitment Award;

Plexus Corporation, Neenah – Customer Commitment Award.

Lifetime Achievement Award in Manufacturing

James S. Haney, President and CEO, Wisconsin Manufacturers and Commerce, Madison

“Baker Tilly is proud to recognize these great companies for the important work they do,” said Tim Christen, CEO of Baker Tilly, one of the program sponsors. “Manufacturers are the backbone of Wisconsin’s economy, and we applaud these winners for their loyalty, dedication, and fortitude.”

Celebrating its 23rd year, the MOTY program recognizes manufacturers of all sizes and industries for their contributions to the great state of Wisconsin. The Wisconsin Manufacturer of the Year award winners were selected by an independent panel of judges representing industry, education, and the public sector.

“These seven companies represent the best of the best of Wisconsin’s manufacturers,” said Tod Linstroth, Senior Partner of Michael Best & Friedrich LLP and a member of the firm’s management committee. “The world-class innovation and advancements that come from companies in our backyard are second to none.”

James S. Haney, President and CEO of Wisconsin Manufacturers and Commerce, was also honored Thursday night. Haney received a Lifetime Achievement Award in Manufacturing for his work on behalf of Wisconsin manufacturers. He will retire this spring after more than a quarter-century at WMC.

The accounting and advisory firm of Baker Tilly, the law firm of Michael Best & Friedrich LLP, and the business association Wisconsin Manufacturers and Commerce sponsor the MOTY awards program. Additional information can be found online at http://www.wimoty.com or by calling (800) 362-7301.