St Croix EDC: Announces legislative forum at WITC-New Richmond campus

Contact: Bill Rubin/Jacki Bradham, St. Croix EDC, 715-381-4383

St. Croix Economic Development Corporation will host its third annual legislative forum with St. Croix County’s four state legislators (Senator Sheila Harsdorf, Representative John Murtha, Representative Dean Knudson, and Representative Erik Severson) on Monday, December 5, 2011 from 4:30 to 6:00 p.m. at the Cashman Conference Center on the WITC-New Richmond campus (New Richmond, Wisconsin).

Public and private sector members of St. Croix EDC, along with county residents and businesses, are invited to attend and participate. An informal networking session with the legislators runs from 4:30 to 5:00 p.m., followed by a town hall-style question and answer period from 5:00 to 6:00 p.m.

“Forums like this help bring our residents and businesses closer to their legislators,” said William Rubin, executive director of St. Croix EDC. “Meanwhile, the personal networking and public questions help the legislators better understand issues they can bring back to Madison.”

Senator Sheila Harsdorf represents Wisconsin’s 10th Senate District. She was elected to the Assembly 1988-96, and first elected to the Senate in 2000. She will serve on the 2011-2012 Joint Finance Committee and is the Republican caucus vice chair in the Senate.

Erik Severson was elected to the Wisconsin Assembly in November 2010 represents the 28th Assembly District.

Representative John Murtha represents the 29th Assembly District. He was first elected to the Assembly in 2006.

Dean Knudson was elected to the Wisconsin Assembly in November 2010 represents the 30th Assembly District. He previously served as Alderperson and Mayor of the City of Hudson.

Attendees are asked to RSVP at [email protected] or (715) 381-4383.