REDE Announces New Director for Healthcare Initiatives

Former DeanCare Executive Kathryn Otto will head healthcare sector-based work

November 26, 2007 (Madison, WI) – The Regional Economic Development Entity (placeholder name REDE, pronounced “ready”), a not-for-profit entity serving the eight-county Capital Region*, is pleased to announce the hiring of Director of Healthcare Initiatives, Kathryn Otto.

Ms. Otto has a long history working with health and insurance providers, including Physicians Plus Medical Group and several roles with Physicians Plus Insurance Corporation. Most recently, Ms. Otto was Manager of Group Retention for Dean Health Insurance. Ms. Otto holds a B.S. from Cardinal Stritch College and is currently completing her Executive MBA at the UW-Madison Professional affiliations include State of Wisconsin Health and Life Insurance Licenses, Wisconsin Association of Health Underwriters (WAHU), National Association of Health Underwriters (NAHU) and Society of Professional Benefit Administrators (SPBA).

Ms. Otto has used her roles at the provider-owned health insurance carriers to foster linkages with other sectors, such as her instrumental efforts in establishing a Physicians Plus and a Dean Health Plan reimbursement program for Community Supported Agriculture shares.

In her current role with REDE, Ms. Otto will:

Act as regional leader and catalyst to grow the target industry sector of healthcare based on our assets and partnerships with relevant regional organizations

Champion REDE’s mission, guiding principles and strategic plan

Work with partners to identify, analyze and produce solutions for regional healthcare and bio-medical industry opportunities

Coordinate regional efforts for healthcare sector and workforce initiatives with business, government, education and non-profit partners

Promote the region to interested business leaders, entrepreneurs, employees and investors


Our vision: To grow the Wisconsin Capital Region’s economy in ways that preserve and enhance the quality of life. *The eight-county Capital Region includes: Columbia, Dane, Dodge, Green, Iowa, Jefferson, Rock and Sauk.