Dept. of Commerce: Governor Announces $250,000 to Help Coating Excellence, LLC Expand, Create Jobs in Brown County

Tony Hozeny, Department of Commerce, 608-267-9661
Anne Lupardus, Office of the Governor, 608-261-2162

WRIGHTSTOWN – Governor Jim Doyle today announced that Coating Excellence International, LLC, will receive up to $250,000 in Technology Zone tax credits and a $38,658 Customized Labor Training (CLT) grant from the Department of Commerce to help them expand their operations in Wrightstown, creating 73 new jobs and retaining 236 jobs. The company is investing over $8 million to purchase and install new equipment.

“At the heart of my Affordability Agenda is a commitment creating good jobs and growing our economy,” Governor Doyle said. “To do that, we are using technology, training, trade promotion, and new investment to innovate and modernize Wisconsin manufacturing. This investment in Coating Excellence is a great example of how the state can work with manufacturers to encourage investment and job creation. I am pleased we could help this great company expand, upgrade their technologies, and create new, good jobs for Brown County.”

“Wisconsin and Wrightstown have been a great place to locate our plant,” Mike Nowak, President of Coating Excellence. “These funds are another example of a partnership that will allow Coating Excellence to grow our business.”

Coating Excellence International, LLC, Wisconsin’s 2003 Manufacturer of the Year, is a producer of flexible packaging, specialized extrusion coatings and picture-quality printing with original innovations such as Clean Strip(tm) Ream Wrap. The company produces a wide variety of products, including food packaging, industrial packaging, bags, and release products. It works with a wide range of substrates, including the ability to convert paper, foil, film, and poly-woven. For more information, visit

Coating Excellence is in the Northeast Wisconsin Regional Economic Partnership (NEWREP) Technology Zone. The NEWREP Technology Zone provides incentives for high-tech growth in Engineering/Design, Electronics, and Wood/Forestry related products, among others. The NEWREP Technology Zone includes the counties of Brown, Calumet, Door, Florence, Fond du Lac, Kewaunee, Manitowoc, Marinette, Menominee, Oconto, Outagamie, Shawano, Sheboygan, Waupaca, Waushara, and Winnebago.

For more information about the Technology Zone program, contact Todd Jensen, Department of Commerce, at 608-266-3074.