Milwaukee Press Club: to induct Stollenwerk as ‘Knight’

The public is invited to join the Milwaukee Press Club for the induction
of John Stollenwerk, president of Allen-Edmonds Shoe Corp. into the Order of
the Knights of Bohemia on Thursday, Sept. 22, from 5 to 9 p.m. The event
will take place at the Milwaukee Press Club’s meeting quarters, which are
located at the Newsroom Pub, 137 E. Wells St. The cost to attend the event
will be $10 for MPC members and $15 non-members. Hors d’oeuvres and
complimentary Sprecher Brewing products will be provided. According to the
Press Club, “Since the early 1900s, the Milwaukee Press Club has maintained
special honors which are conferred on persons of unusual and deserving
repute. Among these is the Order of the Knight of Bohemia, the most esoteric
and rarely bestowed citation. Only those who have won laudable reputation in
civil, social, military or scientific bestowals are considered valid
candidates. Because of complete eligibility, we have chosen John Stollenwerk
to receive the Order of the Knights of Bohemia for his contributions as a philanthropist and
volunteer and his expert business management that has helped maintain
Wisconsin’s strong position in manufacturing.” The event will begin with a
social hour at 5 p.m., followed by the club’s annual meeting at 6 p.m.

The new officers to be voted upon by club members Thursday include: club
president, Steve Jagler, executive editor of Small Business Times;
president-elect, Jon Anne Willow, co-publisher and editor in chief of The
Vital Source magazine; secretary, Steve Maersch, retired, The Milwaukee
Journal; and treasurer, Carl Mueller, owner of Mueller Communications Inc.
The Press Club’s board of directors will include: Julie Wichman, editor of
the publications department at the Milwaukee Area Technical College; Susan
Montgomery, senior writer and producer at the Zizzo Group Advertising +
Public Relations; Dave Lurhssen, arts and entertainment editor of the
Shepherd Express; Sonya Jongsma Knauss, assistant editor of MKE; Jerry
Slaske of the Public Policy Forum; and Maryann Lazarski of the Department of
Journalism and Mass Communication at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee.
Roger Stafford, executive vice president of Key Milwaukee magazine, will
continue to serve as past-president of the club, and Ken Roesslein, retired from the Milwaukee Sentinel, will
serve as the past presidents council chairman. The Knights of Bohemia
ceremony for Stollenwerk will begin at 6:15 Thursday. Other Knights in the
Circle include Frank P. Zeidler, Ben Barkin, Rosemary Bischoff, James
Lovell, Fred Pabst, Helen Ratzsch, Stephen Swedish, Alex J. Horlick, Maj.
William Mitchell Lewis, Edwin and Robert Uihlein, Randal Sprecher, Debra
Usinger and Fritz Usinger. To register for the event, contact Gloria
Gappa-Grundman at (414) 588-9571.